Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Dancing

Does anyone else adore dancing as much as I do?

Granted, I can only really dance one way, but I dance that way damn well.

As a treat to myself for all the crap I’ve been going through lately, I took myself out dancing. The place I like to go to is about half an hour away. So for me, it’s a big treat.

I tend to go to gothic/industrial clubs. Not because I am goth myself. But I do love the music, it’s fun to dance to, and goth boys are very respectful of women. No one ever comes up behind me trying to grind on my ass. I hate that shit. I just want to be left alone when I dance.

I need to start going more often. I wish this club was closer to me. I worked up such a crazy sweat, I was just dripping pink all over the floor. That’s what I get for going immediately after re-dying my hair. Such a  great workout, if I could go every week and dance like that for 3 hours every time I go, I will not have a problem keeping weight off.

Breakfast:

Parsnip Muffins (naturally by AB) with Banana and Almonds

Adapted from: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/parsnip-muffins-recipe/index.html

Ingredients

  • 1-ounce sliced almonds
  • Nonstick spray
  • 8 1/2 ounces all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 3 whole eggs
  • 3/4 cup plain whole milk yogurt (I substituted with mashed ripe banana)
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 8 ounces sugar
  • 10 ounces grated parsnips

Directions

Place the almonds in a single layer in a pie pan and place in oven. Heat the oven to 375 degrees F. Bake the nuts until lightly toasted, approximately 20 minutes while the oven heats. Meanwhile, spray a standard 12-cup muffin tin with the nonstick spray and set aside.

 

Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, nutmeg, and salt in the bowl of a food processor, and process for 5 seconds.

 

Whisk the eggs, yogurt, vegetable oil, and sugar in a large mixing bowl until combined. Add the flour mixture and parsnips, and fold with a spatula until all of the flour is moistened, there will be some lumps. Divide the mixture evenly among the muffin cups using a level 2 1/2-ounce disher or 1/3 cup measure. Sprinkle the top of each muffin with the toasted almonds. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until the muffins reach an internal temperature of 210 degrees F and are golden brown, rotating halfway through baking. If needed, use a small knife or offset spatula to loosen the muffins and immediately remove them from the tin to a cooling rack, and cool for 15 minutes. Serve warm. Store completely cooled muffins in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

*So I now check my fridge every morning to see what needs to be used so I don’t throw anything away. I HATE throwing food away. Today I discover I have a parsnip and a banana that both desperately need to be used. I know Alton has an amazing parsnip muffin recipe as I’ve used it before. All I did was replaced the yogurt (which I don’t have right now anyway) with banana. Once again, I am a complete genius as the nuttiness of the parsnip complimented swimmingly with the banana.

The plumbers (who did not show up yesterday) came today early. Like around 10 AM. I had JUST finished eating my muffins when they showed up. I told them I would have made more had I known they were going to be there so early! They told me that it smelled good and they wish I had too! I felt great about myself.

Lunch:

My lunch looked exactly the same as it did yesterday. Sandwich (PB&J this time) with cheese and an extra piece of bread. I didn’t take a picture because it just seemed redundant.

Dinner:

I went to my brother’s for dinner. He made butternut squash curry on sticky rice. As usual, it was a perfect balance of savory, spicy, and a little sweetness with the squash. He’s a mastermind.

 

My brother felt partially responsible for the fact that my internet wasn’t working up to par, so he plugged in his laptop to the TV and let me watch FNS on it! YAYAYAYAY! I could NOT have been happier!!! This made my night. That stupid show is the best thing on TV at the moment. I hang on every goddamn word.  He was going to join me at the club, but decided he was too tired and had to get up early for work. Which is fine, I was just going to go by myself anyway. I tend to prefer that.

Exercise: 3 hours of pretty hardcore goth dancing

Comments on: "Dancing" (5)

  1. I love, love LOVE to dance too! In fact I was a pretty serious ballerina who went full time at the age of 14 until I got too sick to continue at about 20. I miss it. I have no idea what Goth dancing is and that’s something I’m eager to check out now. It sounds like you had an awesome time and how many people sweat pink!! Amazing. They must have thought you were a special kind of creature unlike the rest of us who have ordinary hair and ordinary sweat 😉
    Okay those muffins, they sound just.. wow. Banana and parsnip? Another totally unexpected combo. Wow 🙂
    Glad you got to watch your show, I love shows like that but there aren’t many over here on free tv that have captions (I’m deaf). xx

    • Sweating pink is even better when I go to the gym after freshly drying my hair and after about half an hour on the elliptical I begin to resemble a scene out of “Carrie”. Oh the muffins were to die for! If there were a way for me to make you some and send them to you, I so would! I had NO IDEA that you were deaf, is this a life-long condition?

      • I just have to get out of my bland meal plan regime and cook some – glad you posted the recipe. I’m poor like you, so anything that’s easy and economic is something I’m really glad to find. I can’t afford all the special foods a lot of bloggers buy and I’m glad to see someone else who is real food wise 🙂
        I have been deaf since birth most likely – they found it when I was three and went to kindy, the only reason it took so long was I was so good at communicating that noone noticed, I am profoundly deaf in both ears with less than 10% hearing, and lipread. People still don’t notice as I speak so well 🙂 Ballet began way back when I was about 5 after I decided I hated gymnastics, which followed on extensive physiotherapy because the hearing loss affected my balance and ability to walk. So the deafness was a blessing in disguise because it gave me my love of books and my love of ballet.
        Pink hair though, I have to try that some day 🙂 xxx

  2. Goth dancing sounds like my kind of night out 🙂 And I completely agree that Goth guys tend to be respectful (and pretty good eye candy…). I used to be a Goth…it was the fact that it started to feel like another kind of conformity to me (plus my skin started peeling off when I had a bad reaction to my black hair dye…) but despite being all baby-faced, chubby and blonde I still love the music. Although being so short I tended to get somewhat crushed at all of the places I went to.

    xxx

    • Oh it ABSOLUTELY is just another form of conformity. I had a blow-out at the one I used to go to because they wouldn’t let any of my friends in for my birthday party because none of them were wearing black or dressed gothy. It was completely ridiculous. I had a heated debate with the bouncers outside the club about what “goth” even was and wasn’t one of the principles, first and foremost, not judging someone by the clothes they wear? On top of that from a BUSINESS standpoint, its a terrible idea to deny entry to a BIRTHDAY PARTY of people who are there to SPEND MONEY on lots of alcohol. It ended in the guys agreeing with me on my stance, but they still couldn’t let my friends into the club. (P.S. I was dressed in a green sequined 80’s dress, nowhere near gothy, but they let me in just fine.) So lucky for us there’s another club 1 block away, smaller, but also plays goth/industrial music. We went there. They let all of my friends in. We spent a shitton of money. We had a goddamn blast. The DJ’s played whatever we wanted. Best 30th birthday ever. Thats the club I went to last night. I would kill to be able to go every week.

      Being a front-row girl myself we always take care of the short girls up there. We would have made sure you were fine, you wouldn’t get crushed with me around.

Leave a Reply

