Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Whoops.

How did I not realize the Salvation Army was not open on Sundays?

Stupid me.

I sorta skipped breakfast to make the other half of my curtain knowing I was going to eat half a pizza in a few hours anyway. I went to pick up a long-time friend of mine from his house at about noon with promises of pizza and beer if he helped me out. He’s an awesome guy and is always more than willing to help in my time of need. We head over to the store and…wha….oh yeah, it’s Sunday. This IS a Christian organization, of COURSE they’re closed on Sundays.

Well hon, want to go get pizza and beer anyway?

So he bought a six pack of Magic Hat (which I LOVE) and we had one beer here in my empty apartment. Then off to the pizza parlor up the street! We had a small pepperoni and mushroom pizza and a pitcher of beer. Then came back here and he played my bass for me while we drank and hung out. I took him home around 5. He was technically my very first guest! We had a wonderful time!

I am getting him at noon tomorrow to pick them up for real this time.

I cannot afford pizza twice though…hehe.

I spent the rest of the evening sort of drunk and heavily flirting with Potential Future Husband #1, where he proceeded to tell me he likes me more than bacon.

You guys don’t know this, but that is QUITE the compliment.

Dinner:

Mushroom and Zucchini Stroganoff on Brown Rice

Adapted slightly from: http://www.iq-student-accommodation.com/blog/student-recipe-mushroom-stroganoff

Ingredients

1/3 small onion, finely chopped
50ml of single cream
8x closed cup mushrooms (25g each), thick sliced
75g of value long grain rice
1 garlic clove, finely chopped
2 tsp tomato puree
1 tbsp vegetable oil
100ml vegetable stock
1 tsp mild chilli powder
1/2 tsp medium curry powder
1 tsp plain white flour

Method

Serves: One
Difficulty: Easy
Cost: £0.71 per serving
Prep. Time: 5 mins
Cooking Time: 25 mins

1. Heat the oil in a saucepan and cook the onion and garlic for 2-3 minutes or until the onion is soft. Add the mushrooms and cook for 2-3 minutes.

2. Add the tomato puree, chilli powder, curry powder and flour and mix thoroughly. Slowly add in the stock until it is absorbed and simmer so that the sauce thickens.

3. Meanwhile, cook the rice according to the packet instructions.

4. Remove the stroganoff from the heat, mix in the single cream and return to the heat until piping hot. Taste the sauce at this stage and season to taste with salt and pepper. To serve, simply spoon the mushroom stroganoff over the cooked rice and ENJOY!

*GREAT way to use up those clearance mushrooms! AND I didn’t have to thaw out any chicken! Also a plus! I didn’t have any stock, so I just used milk instead to make it nice and creamy. I also had a little zucchini left over that I threw in as well. I am lucky that most of my food is still good after not eating for 5 days. As we all know, I hate throwing out food.

Here’s hoping tomorrow’s couch move goes a bit more smoothly!

 

Comments on: "Couch day? (Sunday! NOOOO!)" (2)

  1. Bacon is a godsend, I agree. You must be something wonderful 🙂 (How can I have an eating disorder and love bacon/food so much?! It’s sacrilegious!)
    P.S. How was dinner? As a broke student on the cusp of moving, I’m stockpiling a list of cheap-as-hell, but still delicious recipes.

    • I know! I was very honoured that he would say such a thing about me! ^_^ And yes, my love affair with food knows no bounds, even when I was not eating enough.

      It was awesome! Per usual! Hehe. That recipe actually came from a “poor person in college” website, so that would be perfect for you!

Leave a Reply

