Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Happiness

I was told by Potential Future Husband #1 today that he very much looks forward to talking with me every day and gets happy and excited when he sees me pop onto Facebook.

And also that he thinks of me all the time.

I’m feeling pretty great, I have to say.

He also grabbed some free furniture for me just in case I wanted it.

This is how I should feel. Special. Important.

Missed.

He’s doing really really well. I’m proud of him. We have a hard time expressing our feelings to each other properly (which is why he was so taken aback when I told him I missed him, I’ve never said anything like that to him before) and we’re slowly getting better at it.

The fact that we’ve recently acknowledged to each other that we ever even had sex when we were younger was actually a massive undertaking.

This all sounds stupid to you guys I’m sure. “Well, if you like each other so much, and you KNOW you both feel the same, then WHAT THE HELL, MISS P???”

I know.

Just hold on…we’re getting this. I promise.

Breakfast:

Rhubarb Breakfast Bars

Taken from: http://joyinmykitchen.blogspot.com/2011/07/rhubarb-breakfast-bars.html

Crust and Topping
1 1/2 C whole wheat flour
1 1/2 C oats
3/4 C brown sugar
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4-1/3 C applesauce (I did not have this, so I substituted Greek Yogurt)
5 T butter, divided {and melted}


Filling

8-10oz rhubarb sauce* (YES I followed this recipe for this part!)


Begin by mixing together the whole wheat flour, oats, brown sugar, and baking powder in a large bowl.Once well mixed, divide the dry mixture.  Remove 1/3 of the mixture and place it in a smaller bowl.
With the remaining 2/3 of the oats/flour, add in the applesauce.Then, add in 2 T melted butter.  Mix until crumbly.

Press the crumbly mixture into a lightly greased 9×13 glass baking dish.

Mix the 1/3 of the oats/flour mixture with the remaining 3 T melted butter.

Pour the 8 oz {feel free to use more, if you want a more gooey/thick center} of rhubarb sauce over the top of the crust. Spread the filling evenly over the crust.

Top with the oat-butter topping mixture.

Bake the bars in an oven pre-heated to 375.

Bake for 35-40ish minutes, until bars are lightly browned.

Slice into bar-sized pieces.

*This was the FIRST TIME that I got a breakfast bar recipe to actually MAKE breakfast bars!!! Most of the time everything comes out a crumbly mess that won’t hold together. THIS ONE WORKED! I was so shocked, the substitution didn’t hurt it at all! YAY! And it was incredibly delicious!! I only ate 3 of the 4 bars I made, SO much food!

Lunch:

I was in such a rush to get shit done before work that I failed at lunch.

Dinner:

Black Bean Soup and Half Turkey Wrap from work.

If nothing else at least I got to make an amazing breakfast.

 

I’ve been so much happier lately. I hope this streak can stick around for a while. It keeps me eating at least.

 

Comments on: "Happiness" (1)

  1. I completely understand your hesitation with one another! When it comes to the fellows, I am super shy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

