Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Night Walking

I know I get yelled at by a lot of people for doing this, but I love night walks so much.

Only one person can talk me out of them…he must be pretty fucking special considering.

Everything is different. The air smells different, the street looks different, the calmness and serenity are severely interrupted by the pounding music in my ears. I dance more, sing more, and love harder at night than I do during the day.

Much to the protest of a gorgeous girl at work that I have a crush on, I was allowed to walk home tonight.

If I believed in a God, this would be as close to a spiritual experience as I get.

Maybe someday Potential Future Husband #3 will go on one with me and realize how wonderful they are. And won’t be so quick to assume that they are dangerous and I will get hurt. I won’t. I know how to take care of myself. I am amazing.

I know he knows this. He just loves me. And being a gentleman, he can’t help it.

But it’s nights like this that make me love being alive.

Breakfast:


Carrot Raisin Breakfast Rice

Taken from: http://alchemybaking.blogspot.com/2011/03/carrot-cake-breakfast-rice.html

serves 4

Ingredients for rice

1 cup (214 g.) white rice- If you want to use brown rice, just know that it will probably take longer to cook
2 1/2 cups (600 ml) boiling water
1 1/2 cups (115 g.) shredded raw carrots
1/2 cup (77 g.) raisins

For after it’s cooked

1/3 cup (35 g.) chopped pecans
1/2-1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup (82 g.) brown sugar, or to taste
milk for topping, if desired

Directions
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit, 180 degrees Celsius, Gas Mark 4.

Rinse the rice with water using fine mesh strainer. Place the rice, boiling water, raisins and carrots in an oven safe container covered with a lid, and stir. (If you don’t have a lid, then cover tightly with foil.)

Cook for 30 minutes in the preheated oven.

When done, stir in the cinnamon, brown sugar and half of the pecans. Top each serving with the remaining nuts and some milk (if desired.)

*Oddly enough, as this is one of my favorite tried and true recipes, I am SHOCKED to see that in the 200+ posts I’ve done on here I’ve not once made this dish. I guess it was one of my favorites because the way I made it was so low-calorie, and I was trying so hard to steer clear of that, that I’d forgotten about it.

That will not happen again.

This was the first time I made this dish using REAL rice instead of instant rice. WOAH! It fluffed up SO much there was like, twice as much food as usual! I couldn’t eat it all! I topped it with pistachios and a little milk. Carrots are an amazing root. So sweet and so delicious. And so very very good for you. You cannot go wrong with this dish!

Lunch:

Turkey and Ham on Pumpernickel with an Apple

Dinner:

I ate at work…I had the soup and half turkey wrap sandwich.

 

Though I did get to work with super cute girl and flirted with her all night, I still did miss working with G today. I realize I miss him when he’s gone. That’s a new discovery. In a weird way it’s nice to know that someone wants to take care of me and keep be away from bad things and cares enough to yell at me for walking at night. I missed him reprimanding me.

Does this make me some form of masochist?

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga (YES back into my yoga!), 4 mile walk, 8 hours running around retail job

Leave a Reply

