Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Paris

G desperately wants to go to France.

He will never go.

I know how normal people work. They say they want to do something. They dream about it. They talk about it. They long for it. But they never do it. They don’t think they can.

I will never understand why people do this to themselves.

Why can’t you?

Why the fuck can’t you?

“I don’t have the money.”

“I don’t have the time.”

“I can’t leave work for that long.”

“-Insert significant other’s name here- doesn’t want to.”

Excuses, excuses, fucking lame ass excuses.

This is the only goddamn life you have people. You don’t get a second chance. Do you really want to look back on your life and regret all the things you COULD HAVE DONE had you JUST DONE THEM?

I am taking G to Paris.

I bought a sewing machine not knowing how to sew with dreams of being self-employed. I learned how. I bought a motorcycle without knowing how to ride, but a strong desire to hit that open road with the wind blowing through my hair. I took classes and DID it. I have traveled all over the US on no money. I have been to London being self-employed, barely able to afford rent half the time. I have met all my heroes. My life is a massive adventure.

G pointed this out to me at the movie the other night.

I told him that it doesn’t just come to me. I have to make the choice to live. YOU have to go to IT, adventures won’t just happen to you. If you really want something, you have to just make the decision to DO it. I haven’t failed yet. I’ve succeeded in everything I’ve tried because I have FAITH in myself and my ability to learn and do.  And I’ve no regrets.

I’ve been looking at flight prices and B&B’s in Paris. It’s not even all that expensive. It’s completely doable. Sure I’ll have to work my ass off and save every penny I can for maybe a year (depending on if I plan on paying for the both of us, which I know he won’t let me), but I CAN DO IT. If he wants to pitch in, he is more than welcome to. But I will be giving him a timeline and very soon possibly an exact date (that depends on the flexibility of the airline prices and if I check every day) and am saying “I am taking you to Paris.”

He will try to protest.

I will explain to him that he’s the luckiest man in the world because he has me. Without me, he won’t go. With me in his life, anything is possible. Because that’s exactly what I believe about myself.

I said something to him the other day that he wants to get engraved so he can see it every day. He’d mentioned how he loves to write, but the industry has gotten him down and he hasn’t submitted any of his writing or even had anyone read it in nearly a decade. I told him he shouldn’t let that stop him from doing what he loves.

“Holding back passion is the first step to unhappiness.”

He told me I am 100% right and that I am an inspiration to him.

It’s nice to be someone’s muse.

I demanded to read his writings. He will be giving me copies soon.

Breakfast:

Traditional French Clafoutis

Quite obviously, I’ve been inspired today with French cooking. I’ve done this before, but not the traditional way with cherries. I happen to have them today.

Taken from: http://www.joyofbaking.com/breakfast/CherryClafoutis.html

Cherry Clafoutis Batter:

1/2 cup (65 grams) all purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 large eggs

2 tablespoosn (25 grams) granulated white sugar

3/4 cup (180 ml) milk (whole (full fat) or reduced fat)

1 tablespoon melted butter

1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Cherries:

3/4 pound (350 grams) fresh sweet cherries, pitted

1 tablespoon (13 grams) unsalted butter

1 tablespoon (15 grams) granulated white sugar

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C) and place the rack in the center of the oven.  Wash the cherries, remove the stems and pits. 

In your food processor or blender (or you can do it by hand with a wire whisk) place the flour, salt, eggs, sugar, milk, butter, and vanilla extract. Process for about 60 seconds, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed. Once the batter is completely smooth, let it rest while you prepare the fruit. 

In a 9- inch (23 cm) heavy ovenproof skillet (preferably non stick), melt the butter over medium heat making sure the melted butter coats the bottom and sides of the pan. When the butter is bubbling, add the pitted cherries, and cook until the cherries have softened a bit and are coated with butter (about 2 minutes). Then sprinkle the cherries with the sugar and cook until the sugar has dissolved and turns into a syrup (1 – 2 minutes). Pour the batter over the cherries and bake for about 18-20 minutes or until the clafoutis is puffed, set, and golden brown around the edges. Do not open the oven door until the end of the baking time or it may collapse. Serve immediately with a dusting of confectioners sugar and yogurt, creme fraiche or softly whipped cream.

Serves about 4 people as a breakfast/brunch dish

*Fantastic! Easy. RIDICULOUSLY easy. Custardy, sweet (but not “too sweet” for people who are into that hehe), and almost too simple for how good it tastes. I’m hoping one day I can make this for breakfast for G in Paris.

Lunch:

Finished off that turkey. Banana. Yum.

Dinner:

Sweet Potato, Parsnip and Pea Stir Fry

This was something I totally made up. I sauteed sweet potato, parsnips and peas with onion, diced tomato and a lot of garlic in some olive oil. I added milk, soy sauce, tomato paste and a splash of lemon juice and seasoned it with Garam Masala, Turmeric and a little Allspice. Finished with about 1 T of brown sugar and S&P. Absolutely wonderful. I put it on some sticky rice with rice vinegar on it. Really wonderful. Outdid myself once again!

 

I got a project done for my store and as a reward got to stream 2 episodes of Food Network Star. Tomorrow I get to work with G all night. I am incredibly excited about this. I’ve never been so looking forward to going to work before. Even if I don’t get to talk to him most of the night, I will be very content just knowing that he is there.

I hope I amaze the men in my life as much as they amaze me.

Comments on: "Paris" (1)

  1. Honey, no. I do not know you but you deserve a man who can take YOU to Paris, not the other way around. Please do not foot the bill! You are too young to be a Sugar Momma. Spend your money on you; it can buy you a lot but it cannot buy love.

Leave a Reply

