Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

One more chance…

PFH#1 has one more chance to win me over. I’m thinking his chances are not very good right now next to how amazing PFH#3 is.

He claimed he wanted to see me today and that he would make time for me. He ended up working all day. “Couldn’t” make time.

How is it that a man who lives 45 minutes away has more time for me than one who lives 10 minutes away?

I’m feeling far more appreciated by #3 right now. And I need to feel appreciated.

I have a date that was planned literally a month in advance with #1 this Saturday. If this falls through on his end for ANY REASON, I will be focusing all of my attention on #3.

Nicole, I know, will be happy to hear this. She has been routing for #3 since day one.

Breakfast:

Parsnip Banana Muffins Pt. 2

AB’s recipe: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/parsnip-muffins-recipe/index.html

Ingredients

  • 1-ounce sliced almonds
  • Nonstick spray
  • 8 1/2 ounces all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 3 whole eggs
  • 3/4 cup plain whole milk yogurt (I used 1 mashed banana instead)
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 8 ounces sugar
  • 10 ounces grated parsnips

Directions

Place the almonds in a single layer in a pie pan and place in oven. Heat the oven to 375 degrees F. Bake the nuts until lightly toasted, approximately 20 minutes while the oven heats. Meanwhile, spray a standard 12-cup muffin tin with the nonstick spray and set aside.

Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, nutmeg, and salt in the bowl of a food processor, and process for 5 seconds.

Whisk the eggs, yogurt, vegetable oil, and sugar in a large mixing bowl until combined. Add the flour mixture and parsnips, and fold with a spatula until all of the flour is moistened, there will be some lumps. Divide the mixture evenly among the muffin cups using a level 2 1/2-ounce disher or 1/3 cup measure. Sprinkle the top of each muffin with the toasted almonds. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until the muffins reach an internal temperature of 210 degrees F and are golden brown, rotating halfway through baking. If needed, use a small knife or offset spatula to loosen the muffins and immediately remove them from the tin to a cooling rack, and cool for 15 minutes. Serve warm. Store completely cooled muffins in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

*I did this all AS DIRECTED BY WEIGHT kids and I’ll tell you the fuck what, it was SO MUCH BETTER. I will be using weight from now on with my baking. I can’t even describe how much better these were than the last time I did them simply by WEIGHING the ingredients! WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lunch:

I did not have lunch. Instead I went on a massive 7 mile walk around and bought some supplies. I was bored waiting for something, ANYTHING to happen today. So I went out and made my own adventure.

Dinner:

Beef Fried Rice

I made this marinade and let my “mystery meat” sit in it for 2 hours:

Taken from: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/meat-marinade/

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
  • 3 tablespoons prepared mustard
  • 2/3 cup lemon juice
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • garlic powder to taste
  • 1 dash onion powder

Directions

  1. Use a flat container large enough to hold meat in a single layer. Combine oil, soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, mustard and lemon juice. Season with garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper. Place meat in the marinade and turn to coat both sides.
  2. Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, shaking or turning meat occasionally.

I used this marinade as a sauce by adding a little cornstarch to the bag and mixing it up. I cut all of the meat into strips and threw it into a stir fry along with carrots, peas, corn and onion. Then I added some cooked brown rice and the marinade and let that heat through. The meat was SO tender!!! YES!!!! It was awesome! I’m learning a lot about meats!

 

It’s going to be a long week until Wednesday when I get to work with G again. I hope I don’t get depressed. I’m trying so hard. I will offer that he stay after he takes me home. I already know neither of us works the next day. He will refuse, but he will know the offer is there. Always. Someday he will take me up on it. I am not bluffing. I never do. If he DOES take me up on it, I may have an interesting story to tell all of you on Thursday.

Exercise: 7 mile walk

Comments on: "One more chance…" (11)

  1. Nicole is always right. 😀
    * says her champagne cocktail. hahaha! 🙂
    love you! xo

    • He is talking to me online right now and making me very happy. We’re talking calorie counting and he’s asking me advice. He so speaks my language…I’m giving him my calorie books next time I see him. *sigh* ^_^ I’ll remember that you’re always right from here on out…hehe.

  2. 😀 !!!!!!!!!
    I’m hungry!

  3. Perfect! I just bought a ton of bell peppers, I have all the ingredients for a homemade marinara…I would just have to get the quinoa (which is NORMALLY a staple in my house, I’ve been too poor to buy it…good excuse though!) and the daiya cheese. ^_^

  4. I simply cannot wait to discover the results of Saturday!!! 😀
    Please keep us posted!!!

Leave a Reply

