Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Happy post

I just wanted to say, G appreciates me so much.

We stayed up till about 1:30 AM talking on the computer.

First he asked me out on Wednesday before we work all night together. It will be the perfect day.

Second, he bought me a grill. He is out of his damn mind. Just a small charcoal one, not like a huge fancy gas grill or anything (I already want to kill him for spending money on me at ALL let alone him even THINKING about buying me something as expensive as that…), and I insisted he shouldn’t have done that. He basically says “Damage is done! If you want it, it’s yours.” ^#$)%&^%(*@!!! OF COURSE I WANT IT! It is something I can cook food on, and cooking is the most important thing in the world to me. Completely not fair to buy me something I couldn’t possibly turn down (as long as he barely paid anything for it…he keeps telling me it was insanely inexpensive and that is why he picked it up for me).

I hope he knows I already like him. He doesn’t have to buy my love. I adore him just as he is. He doesn’t have to buy me things, he doesn’t have to lose weight (although I know he really wants to just to be healthier…same reason he quit smoking years ago), he doesn’t have to take me out to movies or dinner (I am happiest just sitting in the car after work talking to him for hours…) All I’d ever require from him is his love.

I almost fell asleep at the computer so many times, but kept the volume up so when he messaged me, I would hear it. I didn’t want to miss anything. I wanted to stay up so badly.

Then I asked him on a date for the 29th. It’s actually a work group outing for a mutual friend’s birthday. We’re all going to see a screening of Monty Python’s “Meaning of Life”: at a downtown theater and I totally told him “You’re going and you’re going to have fun whether you like it or not. Because you’ll be with me. And I’m awesome.” He could not argue with this reasoning, so he will be attending. There will be dinner and drinks at a TBD restaurant afterwards so maybe I can get him drunk and get him to stay here with me that night. Actually does he work the next day…*checks schedule*…shitballs, he works at 8:30 AM…well all the more reason for him to just stay here.

Then he ALSO wanted to be completely certain I was attending ANOTHER work-related get together (co-worker’s retirement party), and as such we have signed our names as guests one right after the other on the list. So really we plan on going to that together too. So that’s 3 dates.

The idea of someone making lots of time for me is pretty awesome as fuck. I like being cared about.

Breakfast:

Sugar-free Banana Blueberry Baked Oatmeal

Sometimes I’m just in the mood for something with a bit less calories.

Taken from: http://www.alaskafromscratch.com/2012/06/13/blueberry-banana-baked-oatmeal/

Ingredients

  • 2 ripe bananas, sliced
  • 3/4c blueberries
  • 1c rolled oats (not quick)
  • 1/2t cinnamon
  • 1/2t baking powder
  • 1/4t salt
  • 1c milk
  • 1 egg
  • 3T butter, melted
  • 1/4c pure maple syrup
  • 1t vanilla
  • 1/4c walnuts, roughly chopped

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 375. Grease a 1-1/2 quart casserole dish.
  2. Lay the bananas in a single layer in the bottom of the dish. Sprinkle 1/2c of the blueberries over bananas.
  3. In a bowl, combine the oats, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt. Stir and sprinkle over fruit.
  4. Whisk milk, egg, butter, syrup, and vanilla. Pour over oats, coating evenly. Sprinkle remaining blueberries and walnuts over top. Bake for 35-45 minutes or until golden and bubbly and set in the center.
  5. Serve with milk.

Notes

Leftovers reheat well the next day. Store covered in refrigerator.

Additional toppings might include: brown sugar, additional maple syrup, more walnuts, milk/cream, etc.

*Interesting preparation, not my favorite way to do it I think. It turned out a bit on the soupy side, but still really good. The pictures at least look really pretty.

Lunch:

The other half of that cheesy garlic bread.

Dinner:

Strawberry Balsamic Yogurt Chicken with Roasted Rutabaga

Out of absolutely insane curiosity, I bought a rutabaga today. I wanted it. I’d never tried one and I wanted it. So I took it, I roasted it for 40 minutes with olive oil, salt and pepper, and finished with a little parsley. AHHHHH SOOOOO GOOD! I will be buying much more of this later.

I also made the balsamic strawberry yogurt chicken I always make, but roasted the strawberries first in the oven with some butter and brown sugar. Fantastic.

 

The only thing that could possibly make me happier right now would be NOT having to work tomorrow…because it means being there without G. And I am miserable there without him.

I worry about him slightly, as he asks my dieting advice a lot and tells me the number of cals he eats a day. The number is generally not over 1,000.

I don’t like this.

First of all, he’s a man. He needs more calories. Secondly, yeah he’s short. He’s only 5’8, I am taller than him in my heels by a good 2 inches. But he still HAS to need more than 1,000 cals a day..I think he needs at VERY LEAST 1,600. I worry that he wants to be what *he hopes that I want* so badly that he hurts himself. My dearest darling…I like you just the way you are. Slightly overweight and all. Because that’s not what matters to me.

I’m learning so very much from him.

PFH#1 did not talk to me all day. I plan on ignoring him for a while till I calm down a bit.

Leave a Reply

