Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I spent this morning trying to be Superwoman.

I would have accomplished it too if it weren’t for one tiny detail.

A big long oven burn right across my hand…

Otherwise, I accomplished a hell of a lot today.

I had cereal for breakfast, so nothing spectacular and nothing to really take a picture of. I had a lot to do and wanted to be out the door by 9.

Four thrift stores/flea markets later and I finally find a cast iron skillet. Sheesh. I also find this beautiful ornate mirror for only $25. It’s worth at LEAST $100 new. I also pick up some candles and holders at another thrift store. I stop to buy buttermilk and also end up with an orange vase and orange/yellow roses that were on clearance for my kitchen table.

I, of course, am gathering up things to make my apartment look nice since PFH#3 will be in it for 5 minutes.

I have 3 hours to cure my new pan, bake a cake (and you know me, this is no boxed cake here…), take a shower, make myself hot, and if I have time, eat lunch.

You know, be Superwoman.

I was on a roll. I was getting shit done. I got my pan cured, ready, cherries pitted, crumble topping made and put into the fridge, batter mixed up and everything all put into the oven at approximately 2. This gives me 45 minutes to get my dishes done and get ready. I have mostly everything cleaned as I wash things as I cook most of the time, but it is IMPARATIVE to me that anyone who sees my place must think I have never cooked a day in it. Everything must be cleaned and put away as soon as I can. Since I was in such a rush, a few things had yet to be washed. As I’m about to take a shower, I notice my candles (which I had burning to make everything smell like candy, because I like that) in my living room were leaking wax ALL OVER my carpet. Holy fuck. Shit. Goddammit. So I blow them out and crazy start cleaning up the wax. I realize some of it is still wet and not really set yet, so I clean up what I can and go take that shower. Have to run out and add something to my crumble in the oven (this was purposely), wash a few more dishes, and then dig the wax out of the carpet with a dull knife, vacuum up the waxy bits, clean off what had splattered onto the candle stands and my entertainment center…THEN go get dressed and do my hair. At this point I have about 10 minutes. I get my hair done in like, 3 minutes THANK GOD. It came out perfectly the first time. No time to re-do my eyes…there’s still some makeup that didn’t wash off completely in the shower, so its not terrible. I THROW on my clothes (ironically, same outfit I chose when I had that date with PFH#1 a month ago…), wash the last of my dishes, and go to take my cake out of the oven.

G knocks at the door.

I freak out slightly and burn my hand on the oven rack. Shit shit shit.

I try to run to grab my shoes so I can look presentable at the door. I can only find one of them. Fuck.

I run to the door, one shoe in hand, throw it open, and panting say “Holy shit, you have NO idea what I’ve been through in the past half hour…” and all he can do is laugh at me.

I love him.

I’ve of course had no time for lunch and really don’t care.

As I’m putting the last finishing touches on my cake, he notices my hand.

I tell him I burned it when he knocked.

He felt TERRIBLE, poor guy. He didn’t do it, I did it…I just didn’t want to keep him waiting and started rushing too much.

Trying to be Superwoman.

He liked that analogy.

He compliments my decor. He says I have great taste. He calls me classy.

I don’t believe I have ever been called that in my life.

In my head I am SO grateful that cleaning up my mess and purchasing candle stuff and flowers was not in vain. He thinks I’m classy.

We go to the movie. I tell him at some point that I have a blog. He is of course curious. Shit. Shit. Shit. I tell him it’s a recovery blog and that he probably wouldn’t have much interest in it. He says he would never want to invade my privacy and totally drops the subject. He’s amazing.

Dear god I hope he never sees this blog.

As we’re waiting in line to get tickets I ask him if I don’t look totally thrown together. He says I look beautiful and that I always look beautiful. I tell him he only thinks that because I always pretty myself up for him. He says I don’t give myself nearly enough credit.

I have never felt more gorgeous in my life.

We saw Snow White and the Huntsman. The movie wasn’t awful, could have been a lot better though. But entertaining nonetheless. And we both LOVE Ian McShane. No one else knows who that is except us. I love this. He’s so fucking cool.

During the movie I lean my hand over the end of the arm rest to lay slightly on his hand.

He does not move his.

Life is fucking great.

We just sit there like that the entire movie. Not moving them. I’m so happy just to be near him.

When the movie is over, I’m the one who has to move mine first.

I love that he sits through the credits with me. I love being the last person in the theater, discussing what we just watched. Or making fun of the names that go by in the credits. Or pointing out songs we liked. I love that shit. I love it.

We leave and of course gab and laugh all the way home. Never ever ever a dull moment with him in conversation. Ever.

When he drops me off I give him a hug and kiss on the cheek and tell him that I know we don’t work together all next week. At all. But that the next time I know I’m definitely seeing him is the 29th as we have a planned date that day. Otherwise, I didn’t know when I’d see him again. BUT that “Brave” was opening this weekend and for once I would take HIM out to see it if he wanted. (And we both REALLY want to see it…) He says he’ll find some time in the schedule that we’re both free and go from there. ^_^

I then head up to my apartment, plate my cake, glaze it, then go straight to my brother’s.

The cake was a HUGE success. I freaked out a tiny bit beforehand. Is it cooked through? Is it going to suck? Did it rise enough? How does it look on the inside?

It was GORGEOUS.

I has pictures and recipe. This is the only set of pics I have for today.

My brother made chicken pot pie. I did not eat much. I was too happy to eat. (????? DAMN YOU G, all….making me not hungry out of emotions and stuff…)

I raved about G the entire damn time I was there. I’m certain everyone was sick of hearing about him and how fucking great he is. Hehe.

Dessert:

The inside of this was just BEAUTIFUL!!!! WOW! And I loved how much of the green lime zest showed up in the glaze on top. DAMN!

Cherry-Limeade Streusel Cake

Taken from: http://www.sprinkledwithflour.com/2010/07/cherry-limeade-streusel-cake.html

Cake:
4 Tbsp butter, unsalted and room temperature, plus more for skillet
1 cup all-purpose flour, plus more for skillet
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup sugar
1 large egg
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 pound fresh cherries, halved and pitted
1 lime, zested and juiced

Streusel Topping:
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup butter, chilled and cut into pieces
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 tsp salt

Lime Glaze:
4-5 Tbsp powdered sugar
1/2 lime, zested and juiced
3 drops of almond extract

For the streusel topping: Place the flour in a small bowl and add the butter. Using a fork, cut the butter into the flour until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Add the sugar and salt, mixing it in with a fork. Set aside.

For the cake: Preheat oven to 375F. Cut the cherries in half and remove the pits. Place the cherries in a small bowl, and pour the juice of one lime over them, tossing lightly to coat. Set aside. Butter an 8-inch ovenproof skillet (or an 8-inch cake pan), and dust with flour, tapping out the excess. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Using a mixer on medium speed, beat the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Beat in the egg. Gradually add the flour mixture, alternating with the buttermilk. Remove the cherries from the lime juice, and pour the lime juice into the batter. Add the zest from the lime you juiced for the cherries. Stir just until combined.
Pour the batter into the prepared skillet, and smooth the top with a spatula. Scatter the cherry halves on top of the batter, the sprinkle half of the streusel topping over the cherries. Bake for 25 minutes, then sprinkle the remaining streusel topping over the top of the cake. Bake for another 10 to 15 minutes, until cake is golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Remove pan from the oven and let cool for at least 30 minutes, up to an hour. In the meantime, combine the powdered sugar, lime juice, zest, and about 3 drops of almond extract. Set aside.
Once the cake has cooled, place a plate upside down, over the top of the skillet. Holding the bottom of the plate, quickly turn the skillet over so that the cake is streusel side down on the plate. Place your serving platter upside down over the cake, and flip again, so the cake is now streusel side up. Drizzle the lime glaze over the top of the cake. If desired, garnish with fresh cherries and a lime slice. Enjoy!

*I’ve saved the last piece of this for G of course and will be slipping it onto a plate in the breakroom with his name on it. Hopefully he won’t even notice I was there…gotta time it right so he’s not on break already when I get there…I know I know he’s on a diet…uhg. It’s a small piece. I hope he doesn’t kill me.

I normally don’t do same-day updates anymore. But I was just so incredibly happy that I had to get all this out.

Please don’t mind me. I’m just in love.

Comments on: "Movie attempt #2 with #3" (8)

  1. OMG!!!!!!!!!
    1. I’m a freaky clean candle girl, too! I cannot allow a single person to enter my domain without one day’s notice so that i can make it spic and span.
    2. I wait until the very last credit has rolled, too!
    3. I am so happy for your love. :):):) – not just because I picked him to start with, but because I love to see you as happy! Mwah!

  2. PS: He can find your blog if he observes your Twitter or Facebook interactions with me because I list my blog on the public portion of my pages… and he can observe your comments… linking back to yours. (I’m the daughter of a former FBI guy).

    • Oh I’m even more anal retentive than that, my place has to be spotless 24/7. JUST IN CASE someone pops over. It is ALWAYS in a state of ready for guests.

      I know…he doesn’t use his Twitter much, and unless he was terribly curious about who you are I don’t think he would click through your profile just to try and find my stuff…once again….I trust him 100% and I believe him when he says he wouldn’t. Because he’s amazing.

      • Oh my god, this makes me so terribly happy! 😀 I love him for you!
        I don’t keep my apartment spotless 24/7… but I do keep my deadbolts secured, just in case someone does pop over unexpectedly… 😉

  3. Oh man oh man, I thought for a second a bowl sitting on my kitchen counter that wasn’t clean and I freaked out, but I DID clean it and put it away already. Whew! Hahaha! THATS how crazy clean I am!

    Funny you say that, I actually keep my front door UNlocked 24/7 so that anyone is free to walk in at any time. I want my place to be a safe house for my friends at any given hour and I want them to know my door is always open for them, even if I am not here. I only ever lock it when I have guests, moreso to protect them than to protect myself. Some people are not happy that I do this…okay 1 person….but I can’t help it. I also don’t own anything of any value at all, so I’m not worried. I should be. I clearly have VERY VERY little concern for personal safety.

    (And he amazes me.)

    • not me! having been raised by an FBI dad + having worked as a security consultant for 8 years makes me uber over protective and always looking over my shoulder.

      • The utter lack of concern for my own safety really kills #3….and I absolutely can’t fucking stand to hurt him. I didn’t go on a night walk last night because of it. I just enjoyed the crisp night air from my porch instead. *sigh* I got to talk with the other tenant in my townhouse for a little while though since I was on the porch instead of on a walk, so I’ll chalk that up to a plus. Socialization is a good thing.

      • Agreed! I hate the prospect of talking to people… but I almost always feel better after the fact.

Leave a Reply

