Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

My family is so cool.

My grandpa was in town for a visit, so we all went out to diner at a tapas-style restaurant. I mention to my dad right before we order that whatever dishes I choose to bring to the table will have to be vegetarian as I cannot eat meat on this day and explain my reasoning, but that everyone else is free to order and share whatever they desire.  He ends up ordering ALL of our dishes vegetarian! Just for me! My dad is the coolest!

It’s nice to be encouraged to eat healthy and try new ideas and new ways of seeing food. My dad is a cook, so he understand my love of all things food! YAY DAD!

I also got to go clearance decor shopping this morning! I picked up a couple of neat candle holders ($11 for both, originally $55) and a MASSIVE red wall clock ($16, originally $80) for my adorable little place! I also plan on picking up 2 book cases with a shelf on top that connects them at a flea market for next to nothing. Having something to put my books on trumps buying a television. It can wait.

I got to do a bit of work from home and a tiny bit of baking. I did much much better today. Although I did have a little encouragement, I’m feeling much better. Much more like myself. And much more confident in my ability to rock this shit.

Thank you everyone for talking me through this. It means so much to have you all around.

Breakfast:

Banana Blueberry Scones with Brown Sugar Glaze

Adapted from: http://www.thekitchn.com/recipe-banana-bread-scones-wit-155500

Makes 8 scones

2 very ripe bananas (about 8 oz or 1 cup once mashed)
2-4 tablespoons milk, whole or 2%
1/2 cup (4 oz) plain yogurt, whole or 2%
2 1/2 cups (12.5 oz) all-purpose flour
4 tablespoons (1 1/2 oz) granulated sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
4 tablespoons (2 oz) unsalted butter
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

For the glaze:
1 tablespoons (1 oz) salted butter
2 tablespoons (1 oz) milk, whole or 2%
1/4 cup (2 oz) packed brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4-1/2 cup (2-4 oz) confectioner’s sugar

Mash the bananas and then add enough milk to make one total cup (if necessary). Stir in the yogurt and set aside.

Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon in a large bowl. Cut the butter into several pieces. Work it into the dry ingredients using a fork, pastry cutter, or your finger tips until there are no pieces of butter larger than a pea.

Pour the banana-yogurt mixture into the bowl with the flour and stir just enough to incorporate all of the flour. Fold in the walnuts, if using. This will make a fairly wet dough.

Line a dinner plate with a piece of wax paper and turn the dough out on top. Pat it into a disk about 1-inch thick and cover with another piece of wax paper. Freeze the scone dough for 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 400°F.

Peel off the top layer of wax paper and invert the scones onto a parchment-lined baking sheet. Peel off the second layer of wax paper. Slice the scones into eight wedges and pull them apart a little to give them some room to expand. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until the scones are firm to the touch and turning golden-brown on the edges. Cool completely and cut apart any scones that baked together with a sharp knife.

To make the glaze, melt the butter and the milk in the microwave for 30 seconds. Add the brown sugar and vanilla, and stir until the sugar has melted (heat for an additional 30 seconds in the microwave if necessary). Whisk in the confectioner’s sugar, starting with 1/4 cup. Add more confectioner’s sugar if desired to make a thicker glaze.

Just before serving, drizzle the glaze over the scones. The glaze will harden after setting for a minute or two, and can be served right away or packed for a later snack. The glaze can make the scones a bit sticky if kept for longer than a few hours, so store any scones to be eaten later un-glazed. Extra un-glazed scones can also be frozen and re-heated in a microwave or toaster oven.

*I obviously just added blueberries to this, that was pretty much the only adaptation. I made 3 big scones but only ate about 2 and a half. It was a LOT of food…really good, but I was so full! Haha. I hate wasting food, but I knew I wouldn’t ever end up finishing that last half. Ah well! Recipe was very much a success though! I’m certain its very clear that I have bananas to use up!

Lunch:

I was running around a lot today and working from home a bunch and kinda forgot to eat. Whoops. Oh well…at least I had dinner!

Dinner:

Out with family where I ate vegetarian grape leaves, fatoosh,  green beans, flatbread with hummus, a cheesy flambe, and sauteed mushrooms! YUM!!! We finished it off with frozen yogurt for dessert which I had a watermelon non-dairy non-fat yogurt with blueberries and mango! WOW what a night! I didn’t eat all my yogurt because I was pretty full, but otherwise I did really well for the evening!

 

REALLY glad I got actual food into my stomach today and that my dad was OVERLY accommodating! How cool of him! It was so great to get shit done and just try to get other things off of my mind. I think it worked really well indeed! I’m feeling much much better and taking better care of myself. YAY! This “stopping and breathing” thing has been treating me wonderfully.

I will be okay.

 

Leave a Reply

