Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I woke up with some weird sense of impending doom knowing it was going to be a totally shitty day.

I made a super cool breakfast that turned out wonderful:

Simple Apple Galette
Adapted from Alice Waters via Smitten Kitchen

Crust
1 cup all-purpose flour
½ tsp sugar
1/8 tsp salt
¾ stick butter, cut into ½ inch cubes
3 ½ tbsp ice water

Filling
3-4 large apples
2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
2 tbsp white sugar
2 tbsp brown sugar
large pinch cinnamon

Crust
Mix flour, sugar and salt. Cut butter into flour with a pastry blender or fork until mixture resembles coarse cornmeal with a few pea-size butter lumps. Add ice water and toss mixture with hands as it clumps together. Add more ice water, a tablespoonful at a time, until dough holds together. Shape it into a ball, wrap with plastic wrap, and flatten into a disk. Stick it in the fridge while you prep the filling.

Make filling and assemble pie

Cut apples into thin slices.

Preheat oven to 400 F.

Roll out the dough into a 12-inch circle (do this between two sheets of plastic wrap to avoid sticking). Arrange apple slices, overlapping, into an approximately 9-inch circle in the center of the dough. Sprinkle cinnamon and brown sugar over apples. Fold up the sides of the dough, pleating when needed.

Brush top of crust with melted butter, then drizzle the remaining melted butter over apples. Sprinkle the whole pie, including the crust, with white sugar. Bake for about 45 minutes until crust is browned and apples are tender.

If desired, brush apples with warmed apricot jam before serving (though I was too lazy to do that).

*Instead of drizzling the butter on, I cut it into small cubes and dotted it in between the apples. It turned out BEAUTIFULLY. And for once the crust was perfect, my crusts can be finicky sometimes…

 

Tried getting a hold of my brother at about 11 to see if he could help me bring these bookcases upstairs. He had JUST left to go out of town. Baaaaah. Then I fuck around on the Internets until noon when I realize I can’t go supplies shopping without my car today and I can’t drive my car because its got these 2 bookshelves the the back of it.

Goddammit.

So I take a nap.

I sleep from Noon till about 2.

I make myself lunch and chat with my cousin online. Another bowl of fruit. I didn’t really want it, but hated the idea of wasting food even more. So I ate it anyway:

 

I look at the clock at 4 and realize G is leaving work. This makes me sad. I wish he was there with me today.

I think about taking a shower, even turn the water on, but decide it’s not even worth it because G isn’t going to be there anyway for me to look pretty for. My hair still looks decently nice anyway. Washing it just dries it out and makes it frizzy. So I’ll leave it the way it is.

I leave for work.

I walk across the parking lot at about 5:20 and am PRETTY certain I see G’s car…but it totally can’t be. He left at 4. He wouldn’t possibly still be there.

I walk into the break room. He’s sleeping on the table.

It was so cute I could hardly stand it.

Damn me for not prettying myself up…

Eventually my presence wakes him up. I’d kept him up so late the night before, he didn’t get home till 2:30, and then he had to be up again at like, 6 AM for work. I feel awful. He keeps telling me its alright but I still feel bad.

He then asks me if I’d like to push the movie time back and do coffee beforehand.

A pre-date date? Of course! How incredibly happy this has made me!

We talk a whole bunch before I actually get my ass to work and he finally goes home. We talk too much. He says its because we’re both just such fascinating people. It’s true. ^_^ Well…he is anyway…

I am nothing but smiles and rainbows and sunshine the rest of my shift at work.

I absolutely cannot wait for tomorrow.

I was so happy, I actually ate. I had a cup of black bean soup for dinner.

Things are so great. I am so happy.

 

Exercise: 2.5 mile walk to work (got a ride home from one of my highlighted boys)

Comments on: "Crap day turned absolutely amazing" (4)

  1. So glad you weren’t deprived of your black bean like we were at Panera Bread!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

