Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I spent an extra $20 today for food.

I try not to spend more than $50 a month on food for my home. (If I go out or take someone out, this does not count, I count that toward a “restaurant and entertainment” budget.) Right now I think I am at $58. This makes me incredibly sad. But I splurged on a couple of food items to make certain that I WOULD EAT.

I bought basil, on clearance still yes, but not something I absolutely NEED right now. I. Love. Basil. Especially fresh basil.

I bought a box of couscous for $3. It was not on a sale. I just wanted couscous. I adore it.

I decided I was going to make a pesto with all that basil. Pesto is my absolute favourite. I have to make good, quality pesto every time. This means buying pine nuts.

I splurge another $5 on pine nuts. THAT my friends, is a lot of money.

I mean to work a lot when I get home. I get somewhat distracted online……okay VERY distracted online. ~_^

Happy, wonderful distractions, but distractions nonetheless.

I still get plenty done, just not as much as originally planned.

It’s alright, I can get things done tomorrow if need be. No rush on this project at the moment.

Breakfast:

Cereal.

Lunch:

I went to a local market to pick up bread. While I was there I sampled a bunch of cheese, sausages, breads, and dips. I considered that lunch. And it was free. Gotta make up for spending all that extra money somehow…

Dinner:

Creamy Basil Pesto on Angel Hair

Pesto sauce:

1/8 c Olive Oil
1/8 c Water
A handful of fresh Basil
10 Mint leaves (or so…)
3 T Cream Cheese
1/3 T Butter, melted
Half a handful of Pine Nuts plus more for garnish
Garlic
S&P to taste

Blend all of this up in a food processor. Serve on angel hair pasta and garnish with a few more pine nuts. My undying  favourite! I’ve done a lot of cooking but nothing compares to a well made, fresh pesto!

I’m going to try and finish his project tomorrow before going into work I think. I need to go shopping immediately after work for a Rockabilly dress for my date, then my brothers for girly nail time/Food Network Star finale with my sister in law. So I’d rather just get this done with early to have my evening to myself.

Exercise: 5 mile walk

Leave a Reply

