Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Boring is okay!

I’m learning this. The reason that I started this blog was to keep myself accountable to what I ate, and that INCLUDES boring, not-so-pretty food. So I’ve finally gone back to taking pictures of everything regardless of aesthetics.

Breakfast:

Cereal. BUT! At least I have a picture!

Lunch:

PB&J. But piiiiiictuuuuure…

Dinner:

Spaghetti with Basil Tomato Sauce and Sauteed Mushrooms

Basil Tomato Sauce:

2 Tomatoes, finely chopped
1/4 small Onion, finely chopped
1 clove Garlic, minced
Maybe about 2 T Tomato Paste, but I like my sauces REALLY tomato-y
A lot of fresh Basil, chopped (maybe like…2 T again…I like my stuff super flavourful)
Fresh chopped Thyme, about 1 t
1 T Sugar (I also love sweetness if you’ve somehow forgotten)
S&P to taste
Olive Oil for sauteing
Water as needed

Sautee the onions and garlic in some olive oil. Add the chopped tomato and try to rescue as much of the juice as possible too so you can add that as well!  Add tomato paste. Allow to simmer and cook down, adding water as necessary to bring back to the right consistency. Cook for around 10-15 minutes. Add basil, thyme, sugar, salt and pepper. Cook about another 5 minutes. Sautee some mushroom slices in a little butter, oil and salt. Serve on top of spaghetti with a basil chiffonade for garnish! EXCELLENT quick dish! Really, I cannot sing it’s praises enough! But then again, I adore basil, so I can’t really go wrong with it.

I also made a peach pie this evening. I had a whole ton of peaches to do SOMETHING with, so I made this pie:

…and of course promptly ate like 1/4 of it. Could have been worse! 2 pieces really isn’t all that bad! I did have them with a big dollop of greek yogurt though! Mmmmm!

I cannot remember the sites I got the recipe from. I combined a bunch of them. I DO want to let my future self know that this DID contain almond extract, lemon juice and needed more sugar. I just think everything needs more sugar. Also, the liquid-to-peach ratio for the filling should have been higher (more liquid next time!) so I need to check into that too. OTHERWISE this actually turned out pretty good! The crust was especially good! I was really proud of it this time! I will be making lots more of these in the future, I WILL perfect a pie recipe!

Exercise: 5 mile walk (without stopping at work to visit G…I did not want the bombardment of questions from my co-workers about my neck…they know….I know they all know)

Leave a Reply

