Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Money woes

I keep spending my money on things I shouldn’t be spending my money on.

I have rent due in a week. I simply do not have enough for it. So I am freaking out slightly.

I shouldn’t, because whenever I desperately need money, that seems to be the time I start selling the most stuff. And then everything is okay. But until then, I freak out entirely.

I’ll be okay. I just need to work harder. And eat better to keep my energy up!

Breakfast:

Perfectly Crispy Waffles with Mango Syrup and fresh Diced Mango

Waffles:

Taken from: http://buffaloeats.org/2010/02/08/cookin-with-walt-amazing-restaurant-quality-crispy-waffles/

INGREDIENTS:

  • ½ cup AP FLOUR
  • ¼ cup Traditional WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR
  • ¼ cup CORN STARCH
  • 1 TBSP GROUND FLAX MEAL (optional but good for you)
  • ¼ tsp BAKING SODA
  • ½ tsp BAKING POWDER
  • ½ tsp SALT
  • 2 tsp CANE SUGAR  (use refined sugar if you don’t have cane sugar)
  • 1 cup BUTTERMILK (or buttermilk substitute)
  • 1/3 cup SMART BALANCE OIL (you have to use oil and this is probably the healthiest)
  • 1 EGG (lightly beaten)
  • 1 tsp VANILLA EXTRACT (You can use two if you like)

PREPARATION:

Thoroughly mix all of the dry ingredients.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix thoroughly but don’t over mix.  Let it sit for 15 minutes and give it a couple of stirs.   Let it sit for 15 more minutes

Here is a punch list of techniques to guarantee success:

  • Preheat the iron
  • Do not spray the iron with non stick spray.  Plenty of oil in the recipe
  • Fill the bottom of the iron with the correct amount of batter which will differ based on the model.
  • Close the cover and leave it alone.  Some irons have a light that says it is done.  It is not done.  The waffle will steam a lot.  When the steam slows down to barely steaming the waffle is done.  You can now open it and check.  It should be medium dark golden brown.  It steam turns to smoke you waited too long.
  • Close the iron for a minute between waffles and let it recover.
  • You can heat an oven to 200 and keep your waffles in there for a bit if you are making a lot ahead of time.  Don’t stack them on top of each other and don’t cover them or they will get soft.

DO NOT SKIP ANY PART OF THIS RECIPE! If you need to make buttermilk, the substitution stated in the directions works incredibly well. I used full fat milk instead of skim and was VERY pleasantly surprised with the results! So any milk will work great! LET THE BATTER SIT for the allotted amount of time! If you can, also let your buttermilk substitution sit in the fridge for half an hour to an hour before using to allow it to thicken.

Mango Syrup:

Pureed mango + pineapple juice
Equal part sugar
Water to adjust thickness of syrup

Heat this mixture in a saucepan until sugar is dissolved and syrup is of desired consistency, adding water when necessary.

INCREDIBLE! FANTASTIC! FINALLY a crispy waffle!!! It only took like 10 attempts and different recipes to get it, BUT I GOT IT! I will be saving this and recommend it to absolutely everyone!!!

Lunch:

Pesto, Tomato and Feta Cheese Sandwich

Since I had such an eccentric breakfast, I went for a much more simple lunch! I used some of the leftover pesto from the night before, spread a thick layer onto bread, sliced up some tomato and laid that on the other slice, topped it with a drizzle of olive oil and a little crumbled feta, and PRESTO! One of the best sammiches I’ve ever made!!!

Dinner:

Alton Brown’s Baked Mac & Cheese

Taken from: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/baked-macaroni-and-cheese-recipe/index.html

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound elbow macaroni
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1 tablespoon powdered mustard
  • 3 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup yellow onion, finely diced
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 large egg
  • 12 ounces sharp cheddar, shredded
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • Fresh black pepper

Topping:

  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 cup panko bread crumbs

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large pot of boiling, salted water cook the pasta to al dente.

While the pasta is cooking, in a separate pot, melt the butter. Whisk in the flour and mustard and keep it moving for about five minutes. Make sure it’s free of lumps. Stir in the milk, onion, bay leaf, and paprika. Simmer for ten minutes and remove the bay leaf.

Temper in the egg. Stir in 3/4 of the cheese. Season with salt and pepper. Fold the macaroni into the mix and pour into a 2-quart casserole dish. Top with remaining cheese.

Melt the butter in a saute pan and toss the bread crumbs to coat. Top the macaroni with the bread crumbs. Bake for 30 minutes. Remove from oven and rest for five minutes before serving.

Remember to save leftovers for fried Macaroni and Cheese.

*I of course modified this slightly. I used Monterrey Jack cheese instead of Cheddar and I used cream cheese in the place of some of the milk to make it even cheesier and creamier. CRAZY!!! Luckily I could only eat half of this! I’m getting better with my portions, but I also find myself sort of wanting to automatically eat make 2 servings of meals now since I feel I will have to start getting used to it? If that makes sense. I’m so so so glad to have a man who loves my cooking!!!!!

I walked a lot today. I got a lot of work done as well, 2 projects finished and sent! Long day, but look at all the great food that came out of it! This is what my blog is supposed to be! I’m so happy!

Exercise: 5 mile walk

Comments on: "Money woes" (4)

  1. Your lunch looks delicious, if it were vegan!!!!!!!!!
    I hear you on the money thing. I am currently obsessed with saving tons and spending only the minimal. It’s nice to finally be in this place after my terrible spending history (food, clothes, laxatives, etcetera).
    For so long, I’d buy the best clothes for everyday of the week to impress my man friend. And nowadays? I don’t give a fuck what he thinks about my dress. I will buy a Nicole Miller for the bi-annual wedding that I attend, but that is it. Otherwise, it’s a pair of repeat designer jeans with a Nordstrom graphic t-shirt and fancy heels. That’s it. I love classy minimalism.
    My closet looks like a NY boutique. Empty yet prestigious. I gave everything away to goodwill practically because I hate clutter.
    Love vous! 🙂

    • I buy a new dress every time we go on a big date, but I can’t afford expensive clothing. There’s a beautiful second-hand store right up the street that I like to go to! Both of us have to hold off on going out until after the 7th when we have all our bills paid up. Hehe. We’re just awful. But we enjoy each others company so much that there’s nothing we’d rather do than spend a ton of money on each other. Bah! We’ll figure it out.

      I also love the graphic tee/jeans/heels look!! I do that quite often as well! ^_^ G thinks I look beautiful no matter what I’m wearing though. I don’t know why I worry about it so much! I didn’t take most of my closet with me, I also plan on donating most of everything. I have a flapper dress that I want that I left at the house and a couple others I think, but I also hate clutter so everything else is GONE! ❤ vous aussi!

      • love love love love love love love love love.
        and can i please add that i’m still elated that I picked G from the beginning? 🙂

      • You should be, I’ve told him that about you! :* I’ve divulged to him a lot in the past few days about the time leading up to our eventual coupling and mentioned that you were always routing for him!

Leave a Reply

