Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I feel like its been a couple weeks since I did this right. Things have been throwing me off. I think the point is that I make a conscious effort to go at least 1 day a week without eating meat, but the truth is, I only actually eat meat maybe 2 or 3 days a week and everything else is vegetarian. So I think I’m doing just fine on that part, but I will always try to keep my Monday’s specifically meatless!

Breakfast:

Carrot Cake Breakfast Cookies

Taken from: http://www.cookiemadness.net/2008/03/carrot-cake-breakfast-cookies/

1 cup white whole wheat or all purpose flour (4 Β½ oz)
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/3 cup vegetable oil
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
1/3 cup packed dark brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 large egg
1/2 teaspoon grated orange zest
1/2 cup oats, old fashioned or quick (not instant)
2/3 cup shredded or grated carrots
1/3 to 1/2 cup raisins
1/3 cup toasted, chopped pecans or walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a small bowl, thoroughly mix together the flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon; set aside

In a large bowl, mix together the oil, granulated sugar, dark brown sugar and vanilla. When well mixed, add the egg and orange zest and beat for another 20-30 seconds. Add the flour mixture to the sugar mixture and stir until flour is absorbed. Stir in oats, carrots, raisins and nuts.

Using a ΒΌ cup measure, scoop up big mounds of dough – they should be a bit larger than golf balls, but quite smaller than tennis balls.

Place on ungreased or Silpat or parchment-lined cookie sheets and bake for 20 minutes.

Makes 8 big cookies

*These were….AMAZING. I mean it! They were so fantastic, you will never believe! I LOVED them! I will be making them again super soon, I made 4 and I ate them all! And SO PRETTY!

Lunch:

One more feta, pesto and tomato sammich! Had just a little more pesto to use up!

Dinner:

This was just carrots, peas and corn on vermicelli noodles with a white wine lemon sauce that I actually think I’d like to attempt again tomorrow as this dish didn’t quite work out as I’d hoped. I will post a recipe for the sauce in the next post if it works out better!

 

I just really worked all day today. Had a nice giggly conversation with G at some point during the day. He astounds me. My co-worker is coming over tomorrow morning before I go to work to try and fix my car. I’m RALLY excited about the prospect of having my car back as I can go dancing again and I could visit G in his town instead of him traveling an hour to get me, an hour back to his town, an hour to drop me off and an hour to drive back home again. Sheesh…poor guy. He must really like me a lot. ^_^

Comments on: "Non-fucked-up Meatless Monday! YAY!" (2)

  1. An hour?! Where the fuck does he live? Cow country? Seriously, he must! Haha! πŸ˜€ But cow boys are the best kind. πŸ˜‰
    So I offer THOU a challenge. Try to make one Meatless Monday a Vegan Monday. I’d love to see the pictures. But it could be too stressful, so just tell me to shut the fuck up if it is. I’ve had wine. Haha! πŸ™‚ I just like to encourage persons to experience one day without animal flesh or its secretions (says the fortnight old vegan). LMFAO! πŸ˜€
    So my wine influenced question… why do you eat meat?

    • Yep! That’s basically where he lives, MiddleOfNowhere USA. So yes, he ‘s used to commuting for work and such. He used to work an hour and a half away, so really 45 mins to an hour is not a far commute for him, hehe!

      I think that’s a relatively easy request, I’m sure I could manage that! I would be happy to try that for you!

      I eat meat because I like it.

Leave a Reply

