Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Car?

Today I was supposed to have my car fixed! I had all these plans to go dancing and just be generally happy and awesome. Nothing ever works out that way though. Ever. The problems turns out to be a lot bigger than what I’d originally thought. And of course this entails more money that I don’t have. No car yet for me. Going to have to learn the bus schedule for the winter! Maybe this will teach me to fare better in cold weather since I will have to walk everywhere still.

At least breakfast was pretty awesome:

Gingerbread Muffins with Lemon Glaze

Taken from: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Gingerbread-Muffins-with-Lemon-Glaze-104480

yield: Makes 16 gingerbread muffins

Ingredients

2 3/4 cups all purpose flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 tablespoon plus 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
2 large eggs
3/4 cup mild-flavored light molasses
1 1/3 cups cold water

Lemon glaze

1 3/4 cups powdered sugar
5 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

Whipped cream (optional)

Preparation

For gingerbread muffins:
Preheat oven to 350°F. Lightly butter 16 standard (1/3-cup) muffin cups. Whisk flour, baking soda, ginger, cinnamon, cloves and salt in medium bowl to blend.

Using electric mixer, beat unsalted butter and sugar in large bowl to blend. Add large eggs and beat to blend. Beat in light molasses. Add half of dry ingredients, beating until blended. Beat in remaining dry ingredients. Gradually add 1 1/3 cups cold water and beat until incorporated. Divide batter equally among 16 prepared muffin cups.

Bake gingerbread until tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 25 minutes. Transfer to rack and cool 10 minutes. Remove muffins from pan and place on rack over sheet of foil.

For lemon glaze:
Whisk powdered sugar and lemon juice in small bowl until smooth. Spoon lemon glaze over tops of warm muffins, using about 1 tablespoon glaze for each.

Serve muffins warm with whipped cream, if desired, or at room temperature.

*While these were not bad, I would make them completely differently given a second round. I was thinking there was simply some secret that I didn’t know about with adding the cold water at the end. Well, just as expected it made these somewhat bland and dense. I later found out a LOT of people substituted buttermilk for the water. I personally would have also added the buttermilk with the rest of the wet ingredients instead of at the end. The muffin method of mixing dictates that you ought to leave lumps and bumps in your batter and not to overmix it. Well, its awfully hard not to overmix when you mix it, then add liquid and mix it again. Makes for an awfully dense muffin. So no more of that! Otherwise, these weren’t bad. I would try them again!

Lunch:

I skipped lunch today due to the fact that I’d eaten 5 muffins.

Dinner:

G and I were invited to a friend’s house for dinner. We had salad with walnuts, sunflower seeds and fat free raspberry vinaigrette and spaghetti with a choice of meat sauce or vegetarian sauce. I tried and loved both. Curiously enough, so did G, even though there were things in the veggie sauce that he claims to not be particularly fond of. My friends loved him and he loved them! I am glad he’s liking all of my close friends! I’d remembered to bring my camera, but forgot to take pictures.

Being the terrible people we are, G and I went to get milkshakes afterwards. It was of course awesome.

This night was hard though. I finally confronted G about why he won’t stay with me. And I wanted to know the real reason. He gives me all these little excuses that I can shoot down pretty easily. I need to know why. He explained that he didn’t want whatever we do in OUR relationship to affect my divorce proceedings. It turns out he knows nothing. Absolutely nothing. About why I’m getting divorced. What my ex-idiot had done. If I was even actually divorced yet or still only separated. So I explained to him everything. And I didn’t want to. I really didn’t. I hate talking about my ex to him. But HE needs to know and it’s incredibly unfair for me to be keeping all of this from him.

I explain that he had an affair. That the affair was thanks for the huge list of other things I’d supported him through. His depression, including 2 suicide attempts. His year of unemployment. His drinking. His felony charges. His DUI. The multiple other attempts to cheat on me in the past. I mean, the list just goes on and on. He had no idea. He of course said that he couldn’t understand why anyone would do that to me and I deserved so much better. I told him that’s why I like him. “Because you don’t treat me like shit,” and at this point I can’t help but start crying. I hate showing weakness. He tells me he loves me. Which was the very first time he’s said it without an initial prompt from yours truly. I am the happiest girl in the world.

He leaves at 5 AM. Which is fine. He doesn’t have to be at work in the morning.

Leave a Reply

