Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Accidental cake

Yes, I seem to have accidentally made a cake this morning.

Breakfast:

Well you see, these were SUPPOSED to be “bars”, but as I made a half recipe that wouldn’t fill a sheet pan, I had to make it in something else. This cake pan was too small for all the batter I had, so it turned more into a cake than bars!

Oatmeal, Banana, Applesauce Bars

Taken from: http://www.yummly.com/recipe/Oatmeal_-Banana_-Applesauce-Bars-Recipezaar

Ingredients Serves 5
1 12 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
12 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
34 cup melted butter (cooled)
1 cup brown sugar
12 cup sugar

34 cup applesauce
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
3 cups old fashioned oats
2 12 bananas (smashed)
1 Preheat oven to 350°.
2 Spray 9×13-inch pan with cooking spray.
3 Combine: flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon in bowl set aside.
4 Combine: sugars, and butter and beat with mixer till well blended.
5 Add applesauce, eggs, and vanilla beat with mixer till smooth.
6 Add bananas with mix and mash by hand or with mixer (I’ve done both).
7 Stir in flour mixture till just combined.
8 Stir in oats.
9 Pour into greased pan.
10 Bake till golden brown, about 20-30 minutes depending on oven.
11 Cool and cut into bars!

*Picture shows how much of this cake I ate for breakfast. I took the rest to my brother’s house where me, him, my sister in law and their 2 friends ate the rest of it. I was happy to spread the joy as this cake was downright delectable! Make this recipe, it is quite good! I had no butter at the time, so I ended up subbing vegetable oil, and man am I glad I did! This cake was so moist!

Lunch:

PB&J.

Dinner:

My brother, sister in law, their friend, G, and I all went to see the Avengers! Again! We stopped at a restaurant for drinks and a couple appetizers.  I had a dark stout with 1 pretzel breadstick and 2 large shrimp. After the movie, we had pumpkin beer tasting at my brother’s (and of course the rest of that cake). We played game and munched on gummy bears and trail mix. When I went home, I had ice cream. So my evening was sort of…inconsistent with food. I didn’t have much of a real dinner. I just did a lot of snacking, which is not something I normally do.

At least I didn’t have to eat all of that cake.

Exercise: 5 mile walk

Leave a Reply

