Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

….to not go to work today.

I was in a terrible mood. I was sort of sad. Sort of tired. All in all, just sort of off.

I did have a huge breakfast:

Banana Pancakes with Coconut Chai Syrup

For the pancakes:

Taken from: http://bananahealthbenefits.blogspot.com/2012/08/banana-recipe-how-to-make-banana-Pancakes.html

Ingredients:
6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) unsalted butter
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons sugar
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 small, very ripe banana, peeled
1 cup milk
2 eggs
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Maple syrup for serving
Sliced bananas for serving

Directions:
Be sure an adult is nearby to help. (Totally fucked up this part)

Cut the butter into 3 equal pieces. Put 2 of the butter pieces in a small saucepan and set the remaining piece aside. Set the pan over medium heat and stir with a wooden spoon until melted, 1 to 2 minutes. Using a pot holder, remove the pan from the heat and set it aside to cool.

In a bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Mix with a fork until well blended.

Put the banana in a small bowl. Mash with a fork until almost smooth. Add the milk, eggs and vanilla and stir with the fork until well blended. Pour the banana mixture and the melted butter into the flour mixture. Mix gently with a rubber spatula until the batter is just blended. The batter should still be a little bit lumpy.

Put a griddle over medium heat until hot. To test if the griddle is hot enough, flick a drop of water onto it. It is ready if the drop dances quickly and evaporates. Put half of the remaining butter onto the griddle and spread it with a metal spatula. Drop the batter by 1/4 cupfuls onto the griddle, spacing them about 3 inches apart.

Cook until a few holes form on top of each pancake and the underside is golden brown, about 2 minutes. Carefully slide the metal spatula under each pancake and turn it over. Cook until the bottom is golden brown and the top is puffed, 1 to 2 minutes more. Using the spatula, transfer the pancakes to a serving plate.

Repeat with the remaining batter. Serve the pancakes while still hot with maple syrup and sliced bananas. Makes twelve 4-inch pancakes.

Coconut Chai Syrup:

1/2 cup Water
1/2 cup Brown Sugar
1 T Chai mix
2 T Sweetened Coconut

Simmer water and brown sugar until sugar is dissolved. Add coconut. Simmer until desired thickness. Add a little corn starch if needed. Serve on top of pancakes.

*The biggest thing I’d do differently is add the coconut on top instead. It would look prettier. Also I would have liked to have used coconut milk instead of water. THAT would be fantastic and would give the syrup that extra coconut flavour itself without having to actually add the coconut into the syrup.

These were really really good. The pancakes were surprisingly fluffy and not nearly as dense as I’d thought they would be!

 

I talked with G online before going into work in hopes that he would cheer me up. He did his very best and he did it well. But I was still just not feeling it when I got there. Luckily I was not stuck at a cash register all night as I’d predicted. But I was very “off” all night.

I didn’t eat the rest of the day.

I sort of know what was up, but I don’t really feel like talking about it. Just know that all is fine. My huge breakfast deterred me from eating lunch and I had no money for dinner. My rent and credit card bills are due this week and I really just don’t want to risk running out of money.

Once again, don’t worry. I am okay. Everything is okay. Just in a weird mood. G and I are fine. My money problems are working themselves out. Just….off.

Exercise: 2 mile walk, 8 hours at retail job

Comments on: "There’s nothing I wouldn’t have done" (1)

  1. I wish I could say something that could make your situation better, whatever it may be. I’ll have to do the best I can and offer lots of *hugs*. Hope you feel better tomorrow.

    xxx

Leave a Reply

