Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

ADD

Why don’t I pay attention?

I had to get a lot of work done this morning, and have been under a SLIIIIIGHT amount of stress.

Okay. I supposed those are PRETTY good reasons.

Breakfast:

I need more bowls. As I’m sure you’ve noticed, I own 2 of them. Makes for very boring pictures. I’ll work on that for you! The quick breakfast of course was due to my lack of time this morning.

I was completely convinced I had until 4:30 to ready myself. I had a major project finished. Had to walk it to the post office. Had to go buy more supplies. Walk back. Take a shower and make myself beautiful for the man of my dreams who was coming to visit after his shift at work.

Lunch:

At 3:15 I get a phone call while still a half hour walk away from home.

His shift ended at 3:00. *facepalm*

Great! I haven’t taken a shower. I’ve been walking for an hour and a half in the sun, and I look like absolute crap. He’s NEVER to see me look anything less than a supermodel. Dammit.

He picks me up and takes me back home where we hang out and talk and talk and talk. Because that’s pretty literally what we do best. I get him onto a couple of political rants (which he is VERY passionate about) and get to watch him go from normal to red hot in 30 seconds flat. SO CUTE! I love passionate people! I just listened and asked questions for the most part. I hope I’m a good listener.

He eventually leaves to go have dinner with his parents (which he was late for…imagine that). I ask him what I should make. He suggests soup. A very good suggestion! Low in calories, filling, easy to make!

Dinner:

Roasted Pear and Butternut Squash Soup

Taken from: http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Butternut-Squash—Pear-Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 medium butternut squash (about 3 pounds)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 teaspoons minced fresh gingerroot
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 4 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth (I used milk instead)
  • 4 medium pears, peeled and chopped
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream (No cream so I just cut this entirely)
  • Balsamic vinegar and snipped chives, optional
  • ADDED: Pinch of Brown Sugar, nutmeg, and crushed red pepper

Directions

  • Cut squash in half; discard seeds. Place squash cut side down in a 15-in. x 10-in. x 1-in. baking pan coated with cooking spray. Bake at 400° for 40-50 minutes or until tender. Cool slightly; scoop out pulp and set aside.
  • In a Dutch oven, saute onion in oil until tender. Add the curry, garlic, ginger and salt; cook 1 minute longer. Stir in the broth, pears and squash. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 30 minutes. Cool slightly.
  • In a blender, process soup in batches until smooth. Return all to the pan; add cream and heat through. Top with balsamic vinegar and chives if desired. Yield: 9 servings.

*I know I’ve said this before, but I always forget how much I LOVE soup until I make it! The balsamic vinegar on this is just a MUST! DO NOT leave it out! It gives it such a wonderful kick! The chives were fresh from my garden. I used an Asian pear in this, which resemble an apple in look and texture, but taste more like a mild pear! I always use brown sugar in my butternut squash recipes because it brings out more of the flavour in my opinion!

I found out today too that there is a picture of me in an exhibit at our local Art Museum! I can’t wait to see it! I have a feeling I will be getting a special visit tomorrow as well! ~_^

Exercise: 6 mile walk

Leave a Reply

