Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I’ve been doing this thing where I don’t update this properly for days and then have as much as a week to catch up on. I try to remember what I ate, what I didn’t eat, what I did or didn’t do that day. And it’s starting to get difficult. I’ve been doing much better lately at keeping this properly updated. I was especially good last week. Even when I was INCREDIBLY busy, I took the time out to catch up on all of my missed days. I wanted to apologize for this and let you know that I am fixing this problem.

Maybe anyone who follows me will only get 1 email a day mentioning a new post instead of 3 emails for days I’d procrastinated on.

You’ve all been incredibly patient with me.

As this was one of my first days off in over a week, I do what I always do in my sparing amount of free time….COOK AND CLEAN! No “relaxing” for me! Cleaning relaxes me! Cooking soothes me! Being as active as possible all the time makes me unreasonably happy! Sitting on my ass doing absolutely nothing makes me feel terrible about myself. Why sit when there is always so much to do??

I spent my morning:

Cleaning out my garbage can
Bleaching my kitchen sink
Bleaching and scrubbing my tub
Cleaning the filter out of my vacuum and then vacuuming my bedroom and living room
Picking up and organizing my work room table
Wiping down my stove, counters, the outside of my fridge, and my kitchen table
Scrubbing my kitchen floor
Wiping down every surface in my bathroom

And in between all of that I had time to make these.

Breakfast:

Buttermilk Pancakes with Kiwi Syrup and fresh sliced Kiwi

Yeah, I’m awesome.

Pancakes taken from: http://www.marthastewart.com/318689/best-buttermilk-pancakes

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 3 cups buttermilk
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted, plus 1/2 teaspoon for griddle

Directions

  1. Heat griddle to 375 degrees. Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and sugar in a medium bowl. Add eggs, buttermilk, and 4 tablespoons butter; whisk to combine. Batter should have small to medium lumps.
  2. Heat oven to 175 degrees. Test griddle by sprinkling a few drops of water on it. If water bounces and spatters off griddle, it is hot enough. Using a pastry brush, brush remaining 1/2 teaspoon of butter or reserved bacon fat onto griddle. Wipe off excess.
  3. Using a 4-ounce ladle, about 1/2 cup, pour pancake batter, in pools 2 inches away from one other. When pancakes have bubbles on top and are slightly dry around edges, about 2 1/2 minutes, flip over. Cook until golden on bottom, about 1 minute.
  4. Repeat with remaining batter, keeping finished pancakes on a heatproof plate in oven. Serve warm.

Kiwi Syrup

3 Kiwis
Water (till it’s the right consistency for syrup)
Equal amount of Sugar to however much liquid you’ve created

Puree the kiwi in a food processor. I strained my mixture to get most of the seeds out. Add some water to thin the puree out a bit to more of a syrup consistency. Add an equal part sugar and cook over medium heat until sugar is dissolved and mixture thickens.

*I’m not sure why pancakes are one of my vices. I only get them right MAYBE 40% of the time. This time I burned them yet again. My pan is always too hot and I try making the pancakes too big. I need to cut that the hell out. My problem is that I won’t just reference what I’ve already tries here. Instead, I attempt to use my OH so faulty memory to tell me how hot I should make my pan and how long to cook them for. Stupid memory fucks me over every time. DAMN YOU, BRAIN! To be honest, these were still delicious and I LOVE the idea of a kiwi pancake syrup! I’ve never seen one before and it is just DIVINE!

I missed lunch. My breakfast was more of a brunch…I didn’t eat until about 11:30. So when I got picked up at around 4:30 to go out to dinner, well….I had no reason to eat in-between.

I’ve been doing so well with my business lately that I treated my man to whatever he wanted. We have a favourite Mexican place that I had yet to try anything with their mole sauce (which I am a huge fan of, but have not yet attempted to make myself).

I remembered halfway through eating to take a picture.

Dinner:

Oops.

It was a chicken enchilada with mole sauce, rice, guacamole and tomatoes. I totally ate all of that. It was delicious!

Afterwards we went for milkshakes at Steak & Shake. I drank all of mine and half of his. (He claimed he couldn’t drink any more. Stopping halfway through a delicious milkshake is for quitters.)

Later that night I also had ice cream. Albeit not as much as I would normally have, but I still couldn’t resist.

I eat terribly.

I was a good day.

 

Leave a Reply

