Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Not happy

Today went very, very badly.

I now feel not-so-good about myself and my body.

I started with a MASSIVE breakfast:

Best Buttermilk Pancakes with Cinnamon Raisin Syrup

Taken from: http://www.browneyedbaker.com/2011/02/11/best-buttermilk-pancakes/

Best Buttermilk Pancakes

Yield: Sixteen 4-inch pancakes

Prep Time: 20 minutes | Cook Time: 15 minutes

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
2 cups buttermilk
¼ cup sour cream
2 eggs
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
1 to 2 teaspoon vegetable oil, for greasing the pan

1. Whisk the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt together in a medium bowl. In a second medium bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, sour cream, eggs and melted butter. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour in the wet ingredients; gently stir until just combined (batter should remain lumpy with a few streaks of flour). Do not overmix. Allow the batter to sit for 10 minutes before cooking.

2. Heat 1 teaspoon of the vegetable oil in a nonstick skillet over medium heat until shimmering. Using a paper towel, carefully wipe out oil, leaving a thin film of oil on the bottom of the pan. Using ¼ cup measure, portion batter into pan in 4 places. Cook until edges are set, first side is golden brown, and bubbles on surface are just beginning to break, 2 to 3 minutes. Using a thin, wide spatula, flip pancakes and continue to cook until second side is golden brown, 1 to 2 minutes longer. Serve pancakes immediately. Repeat with remaining batter, using remaining oil as needed.

*Note 1: This recipe was formulated using lower-protein flour such as Pillsbury and Gold Medal. If you use flour with a little higher protein content like King Arthur, you will need to add 1 to 2 more tablespoons of buttermilk. I forgot about this at first, and when I mixed the batter I saw how thick it was. I added 1½ more tablespoons of buttermilk and the batter was perfect.

*Note 2: If you make these on an electric griddle, preheat it to 350 degrees F.

*These were DEFINITELY THE SINGLE MOST PERFECT buttermilk pancakes I have ever made. They were fluffy, cooked all the way through, golden and not the least bit burned on the outside. I have struggled with pancakes a LOT. These not only tasted outstanding, but I’m pretty sure I have mastered the cooking part as well. I set my pan to #4 on the stove (I know, it means nothing to you, but I’ll reference this later), smeared it with some butter, DID NOT overcrowd the pan (I made 2 at a time), and watched them VERY VERY EXCRUCIATINGLY carefully.

The syrup wasn’t bad, but I wouldn’t make it exactly like that again. So I won’t bother posting it.

Lunch:

OK here’s where my day started to get REALLY shitty.

I made this sandwich. Then I ate a cinnamon bagel. Then I ate ANOTHER cinnamon bagel. I felt so crappy about myself, I threw the rest of the bagels out.

Then I proceeded to get drunk.

I drank 2 beers (a Magic Hat IPA and Flying Dog’s Gonzo) and downed a couple shots of a berry liquor that I have around for cooking. I went to a party with my sister-in-law where we munched on veggies with hummus and cheese dip, chips and fruits. Then we made cookies. I had an absolutely MASSIVE plate-sized cookie. I drank a lot of wine. I took a potty break. In the bathroom, I spied a scale.

I weighed myself.

GRANTED, I realize this was not the opportune time to get an accurate number. I knew this. I shed maybe 5 lbs off of the total knowing I had a full tummy, all my clothes on, big boots on, and my period is starting next week (I tend to gain weight the week before my period).

I need to lose 10 lbs.

I went home from the party with a bag of cookies that we had made. I threw them all out.

It could have been a good day, but I fucked it all up.

 

Comments on: "Not happy" (1)

  1. I feel like a fat heifer, too!
    Am mobile so shall return tonight to comment!
    Love vous!
    x x x

Leave a Reply

