Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

More cake

After complaining up a storm about that damn stupid free cake that I downed yesterday, I woke up this morning and made cake. (Seriously???)

Breakfast:

Lemon Lime Coffee Cake

Taken from: http://coffeecakecrazy.blogspot.com/2012/07/lemon-lime-coffee-cake.html

Coffee Cake
1 ¼ cup unbleached white flour
1 ¼ cup whole wheat flour
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
1 Tbsp lemon zest
1 Tbsp lime zest
1 cup sugar
1 stick butter, softened
2 eggs
1 cup sour cream
3 Tbsp lemon juice
Streusel
½ cup unbleached white flour
½ cup whole wheat flour
2 Tbsp lemon zest
¼ tsp salt
¼ cup packed brown sugar
¼ cup sugar
1 stick butter, cut into ½” pieces
dash of nutmeg
1 cup chopped walnuts


Icing
1 cup powdered sugar
1 Tbsp butter, at room temperature
2 – 4 Tbsp lime juice

Instructions
Generously grease a 9×13 pan. Heat oven to 350° F. For this recipe, I used fresh lemon juice and fresh lime juice.

For the streusel
Combine all ingredients in a bowl except walnuts. Using a pastry cutter or two knives, cut butter into dry ingredients until crumbly. Add walnuts and stir thoroughly. Refrigerate until needed.

For the cake
In a bowl, combine unbleached white flour, whole wheat flour, salt, baking powder, lemon zest, and lime zest. Set aside. In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time stirring well after each. Add sour cream and stir thoroughly. Add flour mixture ½ cup at a time stirring well after each. Stir in lemon zest. Batter will be thick. Pour into greased pan and top with streusel. Bake for 35-40 minutes.

For the icing
Combine all ingredients adding lime juice one tablespoon at a time. Drizzle over cooled cake.

*I tend to up the ante a bit on lemon stuff. I doubled all of the zest and juice requirements. It was delicious! And because of this, I ate the entire thing. Granted, I only made a 1/4 recipe and I’m certain that was how I justified my actions. I also added a little more sour cream and egg than called for because though it warns “the batter will be thick”, it was too thick. And though I realize using sour cream instead of milk is sure to result in a denser cake, this would have the fluffiness of a hockey puck if I didn’t do something about it. I am glad I did.

Since I had such a huge breakfast, I did not eat lunch.

Dinner:

Garam Masala Veggie Couscous

I chopped up whatever veggies I had left that needed to be used.

1/2 Green Pepepr
1/2 small Onion
1/2 Parsnip
1/2 Carrot
1/3 cup Peas
1/2 Zucchini
1/2 Tomato

I threw all of that into a skillet (while making the couscous in a saucepan) with olive oil, 1/2 T Garam Masala, 1/4 t Alsipce and 1/4 t Chili Powder. I also added some salt, fresh ground pepper, and a splash of lemon juice. I put this on top of a bed of couscous and stirred it all up after I took the picture hehe! I felt better about having a nice, healthy, vegetarian meal after having cake for breakfast.

It was a long day. I got a call from work asking me if I would be willing to cut my shift the following day. I had no problem with this as I have a lot of work to get done. I ran a couple of errands that desperately needed to be run since I had some extra time now. I cashed a check for some work that I did. I stopped at the drugstore and bought soap, eyeliner (REAL eyeliner for once in my life, not those cheap Wet ‘N Wild pencils) and air fresheners. I got some projects started and others finished. I did well. Not wonderful, but well with my eating. Things will be okay if I just THINK about what I’m eating before I eat it.

I wish I could do that meal-planning thing that people talk about. I have to shop differently. I buy only what is on clearance and in that case generally need to use the items purchased in a very quick and timely manner. I cannot plan days or weeks ahead of time what I am going to eat. I’d also throw my schedule off a lot with various bouts of going to restaurants, getting ice cream, etc. I need to get back into the habit of picking the healthiest item on the menu when I do go out. I’ve stopped doing that entirely. I’ve also been a terrible influence on G who already has many many self-image issues. I don’t care, I think he’s perfect and beautiful no matter what weight he is. I don’t care, but he does.

My poor guy will never have sex with me if I don’t allow him to lose weight.

Exercise: 6.5 mile walk

Leave a Reply

