Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Only partially alone

Today was a good day for everything. A good day for food, love, and work. And I wasn’t alone all day. I had a wonder half-hour in between everything else. I can’t even describe how great this half hour was. Okay, I’ll try…hehe.

First, breakfast:

Omelet made with 2 eggs, some milk, sauteed onions, diced tomato and feta cheese. I also grabbed some chives from my window box and threw those on too! This was oddly fantastic. I just used what I had. And this was one of the few savory breakfasts I’ve had in a while!

Lunch:

PB&J (near the end of my bread)

1 serving of Cottage Cheese. (I think I also had an apple, but forgot to take a picture.)

On my walk to the post office and to buy more supplies, I stop into work to visit G. I planned it JUUUUST right that I figured he would be on his lunch break. I was right. He was gorgeous. He hadn’t had time to shave. He was up late talking to me, I’m sure he slept in too late. He’d already had a bad morning at work as well. He was very, very happy to see me. We laughed and laughed SO hard during the entire half hour. I nearly killed him a couple of times by making him laugh while eating. He mentions something about lemon chicken, so this is what I decide to make tonight. His mum gave me a present. A little ceramic turtle. I named him Reginald. She just thought I would like it. She’s the coolest person I’ve never met.

I couldn’t stop noticing how gorgeous he was. His smile is so beautiful. And his laugh contagious. His slightly unkempt look is very unlike him, he’s normally quite prim and proper. I couldn’t take my eyes off of him.

Such a fabulous half-hour.

I walked him back to his department, told him how cute he is, and gave him a hug. Then off I went! My mood was lightened for the rest of the day. I couldn’t get him off of my mind. (I never can, but moreso than usual today.)

Dinner:

Lemon Chicken and Broccoli

This recipe uses lemon curd as the base of the sauce. I did not have any. So I made it.

Lemon Curd:

Taken from: http://www.joyofbaking.com/LemonCurd.html

Lemon Curd Recipe:

3 large eggs

3/4 cup (150 grams) granulated white sugar

1/3 cup (80 ml) fresh lemon juice (2-3 lemons) (do not use the bottled lemon juice)

4 tablespoons (56 grams) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 tablespoon (4 grams) finely shredded lemon zest

In a stainless steel bowl placed over a saucepan of simmering water, whisk together the eggs, sugar, and lemon juice until blended. Cook, stirring constantly (to prevent it from curdling), until the mixture becomes thick (like sour cream or a hollandaise sauce) (160 degrees F or 71 degrees C). This will take approximately 10 minutes. Remove from heat and immediately pour through a fine strainer to remove any lumps. Cut the butter into small pieces and whisk into the mixture until the butter has melted. Add the lemon zest and let cool. The lemon curd will continue to thicken as it cools. Cover immediately (so a skin doesn’t form) and refrigerate for up to a week.Makes 1 1/2 cups (360 ml).

Lemon Chicken:

Taken from: http://kitschow.blogspot.com/2009/06/304-lemon-chicken-recipe.html

*NOTE: I did not marinade the chicken, nor did I batter and fry it. So I will only copy the sauce recipe.

Sauce:

A cup of chicken stock
Half a cup of lemon curd (commercially-made is OK but homemade is better)
One tablespoon of sesame oil
2 tablespoons of cornstarch and 1/4 cup of cold water
Optional: Some grated lemon zest

I did not have any sesame oil, so I toasted some sesame seeds in olive oil hoping it would be a good substitution. I cooked my chicken in the same pan, also with the broccoli and some garlic. I added the stock, curd and water/cornstarch mix. I added the extra zest on top of everything.

*I loved this SO MUCH it was a bit insane. Next time though, I plan on using more lemon curd than stock instead of the other way around. I just like my lemon things to be really lemony (which I’ve mentioned multiple times.) Otherwise, HOLY SHIT! I will be making this for G, though I would really like to experiment with the marinade and batter next time!

I ended up telling G later in the evening how awe-strikingly stunning he was today. He is confused, but incredibly happy nonetheless that I feel this way. I don’t know that he will ever understand what I see in him, but that doesn’t matter to me. He is always beautiful.

Exercise: 6 mile walk

Leave a Reply

