Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Another good day! (But lonely)

So my lonely days are apparently my good days with eating.

I’m guessing it has something to do with “going out to eat” vs. “staying at home and making something healthy”.

Also, when I’m lonely, I’m sad. And don’t want to eat much. People were spot on when they made the observation that the reason I’m eating more is because I’m happy.

In an attempt to eat better (which I’ve been really good at lately!) I made this for breakfast:

Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal

I made 2/3 cup oatmeal with water (I would normally like to use milk, but I’m trying really hard here) and added cinnamon, raisins and a pinch of brown sugar (not NEARLY as much as I usually use). I topped it off with a big spoonful of Greek yogurt. This was a really good start to my day! Oatmeal is filling, good for you, and relatively low in calories.

Lunch:

Sammich. This was actually it, I didn’t have anything else with it.

Dinner:

Chicken and Sweet Potato Curry

I posted this picture on my Facebook and my friends genuinely want this recipe. So I will do my very best to remember accurately as I trusted my curry-making skills on this one and did not follow a recipe.

1 Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breast (cut into strips)
1/2 Red Pepper (cut into thin strips)
1/4 cup Peas
1 small Sweet Potato
1/3 small Onion
1/2 Tomato (diced), or dice up some canned tomato
1/4 cup Chicken Stock
Fresh grated Ginger
1 clove Garlic, minced
1 T Curry Powder
1/2 T Corriander
1 t Cumin
1 t Turmeric
1/4 t Cinnamon
Crushed Red Pepper
1 T Brown Sugar
S&P

Yes, I used all that spice for one dish. You bet I did!

My usual suggestion for a potato is to bake it, but in this case I didn’t have time (because it takes a good hour to do so), so I cubed it up and boiled the cubes for about 8 minutes. Drain them and set them aside when finished.

Put some olive oil into a pan and cook the onions until translucent. Add the garlic and ginger and cook about a minute longer. Add red pepper, and peas.  Cook until the peas are no longer frozen (if using frozen peas like I did) and the red pepper starts to soften. Add tomatoes and stock. Bring to a soft boil and add chicken and spices. Allow the chicken to cook for about 15 minutes, until no longer pink. Add cooked sweet potato chunks and stir into dish, heating them through. If you’d like, serve alone (as pictured) or serve on rice.

Probably the best curry dish I’ve made yet. I put so much spice into this it was practically neon. I was impressed with myself entirely. Then again, I do forget how awesome I am sometimes. And no rice meant no extra carbs! There was PLENTY of food here. I really didn’t need any more.

I did a crapton of walking today and then realized I was out of ice cream. So at 8 PM I had to go back out to buy some. When I don’t have ice cream, bad things happen. (i.e. I end up making cookies or binge on other things I have available.) I walked to get ice cream, had my serving, and was perfectly happy about how my day of eating went!

But I am lonely.

Exercise: 6 mile walk

 

Leave a Reply

