Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Meatless….____day! YAY!

Hey, at least I got one on purpose in this week!

Not that I don’t usually eat vegetarian anyway, stupid little slip-ups!

Breakfast:

Scrambled Eggs with Sweet Potato, Carrots,  and Red Peppers

I also topped this with just a little shredded cheddar cheese.

I spent the morning chatting online with G, which was extremely nice. He apologizes for not being able to see me much lately due to a lack of funds. (Everyone at my retail job is a paycheck-to-paycheck sort of person, I understand, which is why a lot of us have 2 jobs. Including me, of course.) I know it frustrates and embarrasses him that he doesn’t have a lot of money. If I wanted someone with money, I wouldn’t go for anyone that works at our place of employment, that’s for sure. It is not my concern. The amount of money someone has means nothing to me. I do worry about him though, and to make certain he’s eating right, I invite him to dinner on Friday night.

He sends me a mac and cheese recipe. I can work with this.

He swings by before his shift to help me run a couple of necessary errands (bank, supplies store, etc.), which is more than sweet of him.  We stop by the market to pick up cheeses and a couple of other items I did not already have for this recipe. He raves about one of the cheddars that he tries. I will, of course, be purchasing it. He worries about being late for work, so I send him on his way and finish the shopping up myself.

I have lunch at the market. I purposefully avoid the meat department.

I purchase real nutmeg nuts, cayenne pepper, coffee (blueberry), and 3 different cheeses (including the cheddar he liked so much).

I walk to work and visit with him for a couple seconds. I buy some replacement headphones. They have Boba Fett on them. Win.

I walk home and start a couple of projects. I always and forever have a ton of work to do.

Dinner:

Brown Butter Sage White Sauce on Whole Wheat Linguini with Broccoli, Red Peppers, and Mushrooms

White Sauce:

Butter (Maybe about….1T?)
Flour (About 1 t?)
Milk (Fuck if I know….2/3 of a cup?)
Sage
Crushed Red Pepper
Parmesan Cheese (I did not use this, but this is what I recommend!!!)
Salt & Pepper
Splash of Lemon Juice

Brown the butter in a saucepan. While the butter is melting/browning, add some of the chopped sage. Mix in the flour and allow it to thicken the butter for about a minute. Add half the milk (cold) and continually wisk for a couple of minutes until the mixture is smooth with no lumps. Add the rest of the milk. Add crushed red pepper, a bit more fresh sage, S&P, and lemon juice, still continuing to wisk. Add Parmesan (I don’t know, however much you want, I would add maybe 1/4 cup) and stir to melt and incorporate. If sauce seems too thick, feel free to add more milk.

Saute some veggies and garlic in olive oil. Serve veggies on top of linguini. Add sauce on top and grate some Parmesan or  Mozzarella on top.

*The cheese that I ACTUALLY used worked, but nowhere as near as good as it would have been had I used Parmesan. So if anyone actually attempts this recipe, that is what they should use. Hence my including it! It will be wonderful every time if you do!

 

Tomorrow I will have a LOT of work to do, both of my jobs, and a lot less cooking than I would like. I am hoping I can scrounge up enough supplies to do a project without having to go walking early in the morning. Hm….

Exercise: 2.5 mile walk

 

Leave a Reply

