Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Moved dinner date

We decided earlier to move our dinner date from Friday to Saturday for various reasons. Mainly, he had to be home Friday evening for something important. So tonight is the night I cook for two! YAY!

He sent me a recipe that he wanted me to make. It’s always a nice, easy dinner-making experience when he does that. I had to work from home all morning, then my coworker friend came to get me so we could buy the part for my car. Well, he was a bit late, by around an hour, and there wouldn’t be enough time to do so. Instead, he took me to buy some supplies that I needed, then dropped me off back at home before he had to be at work (therefore saving me a 2 hour walk). I still needed some other cooking supplies, but figured I could get those when G got off of work. I had a surprise I wanted to buy for him anyway (one that was too large to carry home myself).

Breakfast:

I walked to Family Dollar this morning to pick up a few things that I’ve been needing for my apartment. Things like super glue and cotton swabs and air fresheners…just little things. I also used 2 coupons even though I have lots of money right now because I’m a cheapskate. The super glue was to fix my cupcake timer!!! I can use it again! I was so happy, I included it in my breakfast picture. (Cupcake timer was not consumed.)

Lunch:

Usual. It was an action-packed day! No time for cooking until later!

Dinner:

Thomas Jefferson-style Macaroni and Cheese

Taken from: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/chef-johns-macaroni-and-cheese/detail.aspx?src=VD_Summary

Ingredients:
1 (16 ounce) package elbow macaroni
1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/8 teaspoon white pepper
3 cups milk

1 pinch ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1 teaspoon salt
3 cups shredded sharp Cheddar cheese,
divided
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1/2 cup panko bread crumbs
1 tablespoon butter, melted

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).
2. Fill a large pot with lightly salted water and bring to a rolling boil over high heat. Once the water is boiling, stir in the macaroni, and return to a boil. Cook the pasta uncovered, stirring occasionally, until the pasta is cooked through but still slightly firm, about 8 minutes. Drain well.
3. Melt 1/4 cup butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. When the butter starts to foam and bubble, stir in the flour; cook on medium heat until flour just begins to turn pale yellow, 3 to 4 minutes. Add thyme, cayenne pepper, and white pepper; cook and stir another minute, then whisk in 1 cup of milk until smooth. Pour in remaining milk and whisk again. Bring the sauce just to a simmer.
4. Stir in nutmeg, Worcestershire sauce, and salt; simmer on medium-low heat until thickened, about 8 minutes, whisking often. Turn heat off, then add 2 1/4 cups of Cheddar cheese; stir until melted and combined. Add Dijon mustard.
5. Transfer the macaroni into a casserole dish, then pour in the cheese sauce; stir to thoroughly combine sauce with pasta. Mix panko bread crumbs and 1 tablespoon melted butter in a small bowl, and sprinkle crumbs on top of macaroni and cheese. Sprinkle remaining 3/4 cup of Cheddar cheese on top.
6. Bake in the preheated oven until bread crumbs and Cheddar cheese topping are golden brown, about 20 minutes.

*There was….a LOT of food. Jesus H. I used REALLY expensive, fancy cheeses in this. It was incredible. It was SO cheesy and SO creamy and just fantastic. I LOVE this recipe! I may have also used more cheese than was called for, but we’re insane. He loved it. I served myself about 1/3 of this and gave him about 2/3. He was hungry. I was, but I’m also a lot smaller. I literally wouldn’t be able to fit half of this into my stomach, hehe! He was all worried that a half-recipe of this was not going to be enough. Ah, he will learn.

 

I got to spend time with my lovely and eat really good food. All in all, a splendid day! Very hectic, but after dinner, very relaxing and time spent in such a way that is always dear to my heart.

As we’ve been going out to eat less often, I have been losing weight. I am happy about this. It is good to know that I can keep things under control with that simple gesture. That, and I haven’t been making as many sugar-packed breakfasts anymore. I’ve either resorted to more savory breakfasts or cereal on days that I know will be filled with work and general busy-ness. I have lost half an inch around my waist already. We’ll keep it that way.

 

 

Leave a Reply

