Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

MMUM not fail!

At least I got this part right! Sheesh!

BUT I finally lost it. I finally said to myself, “Self, nobody wants to see YET ANOTHER picture of  the same cereal in the same bowl and a PB&J sammich with the same grape jelly and crunchy peanut butter. NOBODY!”

So I protested taking pictures of those same things. Again. You kids probably feel like you’re on a broken record by now with this place.

I worked a lot this morning. Shipped out a couple of things. Expected a visit from my darling at around 5:20 or so. (Just a short visit, he’d left something here by accident that he needed to pick up.) When he arrives, I can tell something is very, very wrong. He looked like he was outright miserable. He had a migraine and just wanted to sit, relax, and let it pass. This was more than alright with me. I closed all of the curtains in my living room and just held his hand and talked to him while he rested. The migraine passed relatively quickly. He told me I must be good for him. That I have magical healing powers. He’s so beautiful.

That was my adventure for the day.

Dinner:

Pumpkin, Peas, and Red Peppers in a Cashew, Coriander, and Coconut sauce

I jotted down the ingredients this time so I couldn’t forget. YES! I will get better at doing that! Some of these turn out incredible and I really would like to share!

Onion, diced
Red pepper, chopped
1 clove Garlic, minced
Fresh grated Ginger
1/4 small roasted Pumpkin, cubed
1/4 c Peas
0.5 T Coriander
0.5 t Cayenne pepper
1 t Garam Masala
0.5 t Turmeric
Cashews
Crushed Tomatoes
Olive Oil
Lime Juice
1/8 c Coconut
Sprinkle of Sugar

Cook the onion, garlic, ginger and red pepper in some olive oil until red pepper becomes tender. Add peas and spices. Meanwhile, put a handfull of cashews into a food processor and blend until very fine, if you have the patience, until it becomes a paste. Add coconut and process with cashews until well blended. Add crushed tomatoes (about…1/4 cup) and a dash of lime juice and pulse once or twice. Add mixture to the pan along with the diced, roasted pumpkin and some extra whole cashews. Cook until pumpkin is heated through. Serve on sticky rice.

*Very, very good! Lots of coriander flavor without covering up the flavor of the veggies/pumpkin too much. I liked showcasing the coriander, it is normally sort of an afterthought spice in curry, so it was nice to let it shine! Made it different than I’m used to!

 

I was happy that I didn’t say anything stupid today. I feel as though I get so nervous, as my boyfriend is, very honestly, a lot smarter than I am, that I say really stupid things whilst talking with him. My brain turns to mush and I temporarily forget things that I KNOW I know.  You know? Then I feel as though he’s going to realize I’m actually an ignorant idiot posing as an intelligent young woman.  I ought to just shut up and look pretty so he doesn’t suspect that I’m a complete moron. I did good today though. I just sort of talked at him about my day softly and in a low tone so he could just sort of relax to the sound of my voice. It worked. And I didn’t say one stupid thing. I feel I’ve made up for the REALLY extra dumb comments I’ve made in the past couple of days.

Curing migraines is a great way to show that you’re worth keeping around. Even if sometimes you’re slightly stupid.

 

Leave a Reply

