Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

My television is ready for pickup!

It wasn’t supposed to arrive at the store until, at the earliest, the 15th. The latest, the 19th. It arrived today. I gave G a call, knowing that he would end up being the overly excited one. He called be back after his shift and I broke the happy news to him. He offered to come get me immediately so we could go pick it up.

We did as such. This thing is huge. I do not need a television this fucking big. I did have fun assembling it, though. I LOVE putting things together. He simply cannot wait to start bringing over all of his favourite films and television programs to show me. It makes me happy to make him so happy. So I am glad I have it. He was supposed to be here and gone within an hour, an hour and a half at the MOST. We sat on my couch talking and snuggling for what seemed like 5 minutes. But, of course, the sun was practically down when he left…around 7 pm. I enjoy joking with him that we time travel together a lot. My usual punctual nature and frighteningly accurate timekeeping capabilities are dragged through his alternate universe where his complete lack of sense of time manages to grab the nearest lead pipe and whack it in the head, rendering it unconscious and useless. It wakes up with an hour lost and a nasty bump on the forehead.  Time travel.

I did not have breakfast this morning as for some reason, I was simply not hungry for it.

Lunch:

Yeah, this was really all I wanted. Nothing extra. Don’t understand why I wasn’t hungry.

Dinner:

Potato, Broccoli and Bacon Gratin

Taken from: http://www.cdkitchen.com/recipes/recs/64/Bacon-and-Broccoli-Potato-Grat74248.shtml

INGREDIENTS:

2 pounds medium Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled and quartered
1 pound frozen broccoli florets, thawed and drained, cut into bite-size chunks
1/2 pound sliced bacon
1 small onion, finely chopped
1 1/2 cup heavy cream
1 teaspoon kosher salt
freshly ground black pepper
1 cup Swiss cheese, shredded

 

DIRECTIONS:

Grease a shallow, 2-quart casserole and set aside. Preheat oven to 400 F.

Place potatoes in a large saucepan with salted water to cover. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer until potatoes are barely fork tender, about 10 minutes. Drain potatoes and coarsely chop; transfer to a large bowl; add broccoli to bowl.

While potatoes cook, fry bacon in 2 batches in a large skillet over medium heat, turning often, until crisp, about 5 minutes per batch. Drain on paper towels. Pour all but 1 Tbsp. bacon drippings from pan. Add onion to pan and cook over medium heat, stirring, until softened and golden, about 5 minutes. Add cream and salt and bring to a boil. Boil for 2 minutes, then pour over potatoes and broccoli. Coarsely crumble bacon over vegetables, season with pepper and toss well.

Transfer half of potato mixture to prepared casserole, sprinkle with half of cheese. Layer on remaining potato mixture and cheese and bake about 35 minutes, until golden and bubbly.

*I actually made this recipe exactly. I don’t think I’ve ever made gratin before, but it used many ingredients that I’m just trying to use up! So it was perfect! And you guys, you guys…the heavy cream? Oh my god, it made it so rich and creamy I felt positively sinful indulging in it. Note to self: MAKE THIS AGAIN SOON!

Leave a Reply

