Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Distinct lack of 4:30 AM

Not that it was terrible or anything waking up that early, but my sense of time disorientation yesterday left me feeling that maybe I could use a little more sleep. I slept until 8:30.

I decided to try something different for breakfast since raspberries were on sale and I actually had time to make something.

Breakfast:

Dark Chocolate Raspberry Scones with Dark Chocolate Raspberry sauce (made by my dad)

Scone recipe taken from: http://www.joyofbaking.com/RaspberryScones.html

Ingredients

2 cups (260 grams) all purpose flour

1/3 cup (65 grams) granulated white sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

6 tablespoons (75 grams) unsalted butter, cold and cut into pieces

2 ounces dark chocolate chunks or chips (about 1/2 cup) (50 grams)

3/4 cup fresh or frozen raspberries

1/2 cup (120 ml) whole milk plain yogurt

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 large egg, lightly beaten

Added: 3 T dark cocoa powder

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (177 degrees C) and place rack in middle of oven. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. 

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Cut the butter into small pieces and blend into the flour mixture with a pastry blender or two knives. The mixture should look like coarse crumbs.  Stir in the chocolate chunks (chips) and raspberries. In a small measuring cup whisk together the yogurt, vanilla extract, and egg. Add this mixture to the flour mixture and stir just until the dough comes together. Do not over mix.

Transfer to a lightly floured surface and knead the dough gently four or five times and then pat, or roll, the dough into a circle that is about 7 inches (18 cm) round and about 11/2 inches (3.75 cm) thick. Cut the dough into eight triangles. Place the scones on the baking sheet.

Bake for about 18 to 20 minutes or until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Remove from oven and place on a wire rack.

*Now, if I were to have done these correctly and just followed the recipe exactly, they would have been perfect. But I had to go and fuck them up by adding too much liquid. I decided the dough was too dry (even though for scones the dough is SUPPOSED to be dry as they are supposed to be more dense…UHG!) and added 2-3 T more liquid. Dumb, dumb, dumb. So these were more like scone-shaped muffins instead of scones. I means, they tasted good and had they been MUFFINS they would have been perfect! But I wasn’t making muffins, I was making scones. Idiot! There will always be a next time, though. At least I drizzled my dad’s dark chocolate raspberry sauce on them, which made them even more wonderful! I’ll get this baking thing down yet!!! I will not be defeated!!!

Lunch:

I skipped lunch today. I think it was because I had a late, large breakfast (I ate all four of those muffin scones…) and had a LOT of running around to do. I called a mechanic today. This will be my last day without a car. I will get it towed and fixed tomorrow. I’m so happy I could cry, but I also do enjoy walking. So I went on one last long walk.

Dinner:

Orange Chicken

Crispy chicken recipe taken from: http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,1639,152180-247202,00.html

SEASONED FLOUR:

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
1 tbsp. garlic salt
1 1/2 tsp. pepper
1 1/2 tsp. paprika
1/4 tsp. poultry seasoning

Combine all ingredients and set aside.

CRISPY BATTER:

2/3 c. all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. pepper
1 beaten egg yolk
3/4 c. flat beer or water

Combine flour and seasonings in medium bowl. Combine egg yolk and beer or water. Add gradually to dry ingredients. Heat Crisco to 365 degrees in deep saucepan or deep fryer to a depth of about 2 inches. Moisten chicken pieces. Dip in seasoned flour, then batter, then back in seasoned flour. Fry in hot Crisco for 15 to 18 minutes, or until well browned. Drain on paper. Serves 4.

Orange sauce recipe taken from: http://thenoshery.com/2010/03/19/better-than-takeout-orange-chicken/

Orange Sauce

1 ½ cups water
1/4 cup orange juice
1/3 cup rice vinegar
2 ½ tablespoons soy sauce
1 tablespoon orange zest, grated
1 cup packed brown sugar
½ teaspoon ginger root, minced
½ teaspoon garlic, minced
2 tablespoons green onion, chopped
¼ teaspoon red pepper flakes
3 tablespoons cornstarch
2 tablespoons water

In a large saucepan combine 1 ½ cups water, orange juice, rice vinegar, and soy sauce. Blend well over medium heat for a few minutes. Stir in brown sugar, orange zest, ginger, garlic and red pepper flakes. Bring to a boil.

Combine 3 tablespoons of cornstarch with 1/4 cup of water and mix thoroughly. Slowly stir cornstarch mixture into sauce until it thickens. Pour sauce over breaded chicken, and if desired garnish with green onions.

NOTE: I also added sauteed carrots to this dish. Carrots and orange go very well together!

*YES! YES YES YES! I finally made a crispy chicken that STAYED crispy in sauce! It just had a nice, light crisp to it, it wasn’t KFC or anything. It was PERFECT! I loved it! The seasoning for the fried chicken itself was not exactly suited for a Chinese dish, but was delicious none the less! I am so proud! It was a fantastic sauce recipe, too. I highly encourage you to try it!

 

I will be calling my brother first thing in the morning to get my car taken care of. Wow. A car. It’s hard to imagine it now since I’ve been walking for miles and miles every day for 4 months now. Damn.

Exercise: 6 mile walk

Leave a Reply

