Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I now feel so much more…busy.

Oddly enough. Before, there at least seemed to be enough hours in the day for everything that needed to be done. Now with access to a more efficient means of transportation, there seems to be a lack of hours for the things I need, and now WANT, to get done. When there is no means to move large objects that one wants but does not NEED, one expresses no desire to do so as it is not a necessity. Now that there IS a mode of transportation of such things, all of a sudden there feels as though there is a need. I need a table to put my gigantor TV on. I need lamps in my living room. I need more large mirrors. I need a coffee table. I need an area rug. I did not “need” these things a week ago. Curbing outrageous spending has got to take place now that a vehicle is currently in play.

For right now, I “need” a costume for Wednesday. I was just going to throw together something with items I already own. For the most part I still am. G came up with the INCREDIBLE idea that I be Mothra. All that would need to be purchased is a pair of rainbow wings and maybe some paint. I am going to look so wonderful and no one will have ANY idea who I’m trying to be.

Breakfast:

Buttermilk Pancakes with Strawberry Syrup

For reference, and because my site was not searchable even to me when I had my privacy settings on, I need to repost the buttermilk pancake recipe that I use.

Taken from: http://www.browneyedbaker.com/2011/02/11/best-buttermilk-pancakes/

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
2 cups buttermilk
¼ cup sour cream
2 eggs
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
1 to 2 teaspoon vegetable oil, for greasing the pan

Directions:

1. Whisk the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt together in a medium bowl. In a second medium bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, sour cream, eggs and melted butter. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour in the wet ingredients; gently stir until just combined (batter should remain lumpy with a few streaks of flour). Do not overmix. Allow the batter to sit for 10 minutes before cooking.

2. Heat 1 teaspoon of the vegetable oil in a nonstick skillet over medium heat until shimmering. Using a paper towel, carefully wipe out oil, leaving a thin film of oil on the bottom of the pan. Using ¼ cup measure, portion batter into pan in 4 places. Cook until edges are set, first side is golden brown, and bubbles on surface are just beginning to break, 2 to 3 minutes. Using a thin, wide spatula, flip pancakes and continue to cook until second side is golden brown, 1 to 2 minutes longer. Serve pancakes immediately. Repeat with remaining batter, using remaining oil as needed.

*Note 1: This recipe was formulated using lower-protein flour such as Pillsbury and Gold Medal. If you use flour with a little higher protein content like King Arthur, you will need to add 1 to 2 more tablespoons of buttermilk. I forgot about this at first, and when I mixed the batter I saw how thick it was. I added 1½ more tablespoons of buttermilk and the batter was perfect.

*Note 2: If you make these on an electric griddle, preheat it to 350 degrees F.

I now finally have an electric griddle!!!! No more guesswork or overcooked/undercooked pancakes! These were beautiful, perfectly golden, and tasted fantastic! The homemade syrup (1/4 cup water, 1/4 cup sugar and half a cup slices strawberries simmered for about 20 mins) and homemade whipped cream were a perfect compliment! I bought my griddle on a sale for $18. It’s HUGE and will be perfect for when I start making breakfast for more than 1. (I swear to God it WILL happen someday!)

Lunch:

Yum! Pictures of my boring food at least turn out cute sometimes.

For dinner, I took a very close friend of mine to our favourite Thai restaurant. I had the Mat-sa-man with tofu and rice. (DING DING DING! I finally got it right!!!) It also came with a small salad. This dish is spectacular and I would do just about anything to recreate it.

It was refreshing to see my friend. She has also been without a vehicle all summer, so we hardly got to see each other for 4 months. Having some girl time was nice. I love my beau, but he is not female and would not understand female problems in the way another woman would. I ate all of my food.

Getting closer to my birthday next month I am starting to wonder…who will be making ME cupcakes?

 

Leave a Reply

