Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Happy Halloween!!!!!!!!!!

This is my day! A day for people like me to shine!

I’m obsessed with candy.

I live for costumes.

AND it’s Wednesday, GOTH NIGHT! I get to go dancing!

I’m so happy, I have such a gorgeous costume!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’ve worked on it all day!

Breakfast:

Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal Scones

Taken from: http://neithersciencenorart.blogspot.com/2009/10/cinnamon-raisin-oatmeal-scones.html

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups rolled oats (4 1/2 ounces) or quick oats
1/4 cup whole milk
1/4 cup heavy cream
1 large egg
1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour (7 1/2 ounces)
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/3 cup granulated sugar (2 1/4 ounces)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon table salt
10 tablespoons unsalted butter , cold, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1/2 cup raisins
1 tablespoon granulated sugar for sprinkling

Adjust oven rack to middle position; heat oven to 375 degrees. Spread oats evenly on baking sheet and toast in oven until fragrant and lightly browned, 7 to 9 minutes; cool on wire rack. Increase oven temperature to 450 degrees. Line second baking sheet with parchment paper. When oats are cooled, measure out 2 tablespoons and set aside.

Whisk milk, cream, and egg in large measuring cup until incorporated; remove 1 tablespoon to small bowl and reserve for glazing.

Pulse flour, cinnamon, 1/3 cup sugar, baking powder, and salt in food processor until combined, about four 1-second pulses. Scatter cold butter evenly over dry ingredients and pulse until mixture resembles coarse cornmeal, twelve to fourteen 1-second pulses. Transfer mixture to medium bowl; stir in cooled oats and raisins. Using rubber spatula, fold in liquid ingredients until large clumps form. Mix dough by hand in bowl until dough forms cohesive mass.

Dust work surface with half of reserved oats (note: I also dusted with some flour as the dough was a bit sticky), turn dough out onto work surface, and dust top with remaining oats. Gently pat into 7-inch circle about 1 inch thick. Using bench scraper or chef’s knife, cut dough into 8 wedges and set on parchment-lined baking sheet, spacing them about 2 inches apart. Brush surfaces with reserved egg mixture and sprinkle with 1 tablespoon sugar. Bake until golden brown, 12 to 14 minutes (note: they baked fast in my oven and needed no more than 12 minutes); cool scones on baking sheet on wire rack 5 minutes, then remove scones to cooling rack and cool to room temperature, about 30 minutes. Serve.

*Toasting the oats was fascinating to me for some reason. REALLY delicious! I’m still experimenting with scones and baking times/temperatures. I agree with the person who wrote this when they said don’t bake them any longer than 12 minutes, I would actually suggest 11.

G called after getting out of work to ask me how my costume was coming along. It was his idea, so I did my best to make him proud! I get to actually see him tomorrow, so the phone call will tide me over till then.

I skipped lunch.

I was too busy making my wings!!!! Can anyone guess what I am dressed up as??

The pattern on the wings is a dead giveaway! I will be very surprised if anyone figures it out.

I went to my brother’s to help pass out candy. It was cold and rainy, so there weren’t quite as many kids as usual, but it was still a decent turnout. A few kids thought I was Nicki Minaj. One thought I was his math teacher. I had some fried bread and yogurt that my brother made for dinner. I think 3 pieces. And of course a bunch of candy.

Then I made the half hour drive to the club. This was EXTREMELY pleasant as I’ve not been in the car by myself on a long drive in a long time. I was elated. I danced all night. I hardly stopped 10 minutes for a breather. I love dancing so much. This was such a great Halloween!

Don’t worry, no one at the club knew what I was supposed to be either.

Exercise: 3.5 hours of dancing

Leave a Reply

