Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Back to work!

It was nice to be “off” for a couple of days, but the time has come to pick up where I left off on Monday with my business! I’ve started a major project and hope to have it done by tomorrow. Next, I’m going to get back on track with my working out. I’ve decided against going to the gym at night. I am now used to getting my exercise during the day and I get sleepy when the sun goes down. So I will work out a time, probably between breakfast and lunch on my days off, that will work best for me to go work out for an hour. Luckily, I now live one block away from my gym. I can’t even wait to get back on the treadmill!

Breakfast:

Miss P’s Test Kitchen: Muffin Experiment #2 – Raspberry Buttermilk Muffins

Taken from: http://www.joyofbaking.com/muffins/ButtermilkBerryMuffins.html

2 1/2 cups (325 grams) all-purpose flour

3/4 cup (150 grams) granulated white sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

Zest of one orange or lemon

1 large egg, lightly beaten

1 cup (240 ml) buttermilk

1/2 cup (120 ml) safflower or canola oil

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 to 2 cups (360-480 ml) fresh or frozen berries (blueberries, raspberries, or blackberries)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Position rack in center of oven. Line with paper liners, or butter or spray, with a non stick cooking spray, 12 – 2 3/4 x 1 1/2 inch muffin cups. In a large measuring cup or bowl whisk together the egg, buttermilk, oil, and vanilla extract. 

In another large bowl combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and zest. Gently fold in the berries. With a rubber spatula fold the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir only until the ingredients are combined. Do not over mix the batter or tough muffins will result. 

Fill each muffin cup almost full with batter, using two spoons or an ice cream scoop. Place in the oven and bake until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean, about 20 – 25 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool for about 5 – 10 minutes before removing from pan. 

Makes 12 regular sized muffins.

Note: If using frozen berries you may have to bake the muffins a little longer than the stated time.

*NOTE: I baked these at 375 degrees for 18 minutes. They still seemed like they might be just a little dark, but looked WAY better! I will try a lower temperature tomorrow. Also, I HIGHLY recommend this recipe! The citrusy aromatics of the orange complimented the sweet-tart raspberries wonderfully!

I worked so much today that I forgot to eat lunch. I also had a really late breakfast. I got a lot done though!

Dinner:

Broccoli and Mushroom Stroganoff

I’m not sure what else to call this, but I had sour cream to use up! SO I came up with this:

Broccoli
Mushrooms, cut into large slices
Onion, chopped
1 clove Garlic, minced
Parsley, finely chopped
Dried Thyme (about 1/2 t)
1/3 c Sour Cream
1 T Worcestershire Sauce
1 T Dijon Mustard
1/8 c Beef Stock
1 t Cornstarch

Cook onions, broccoli, and garlic in olive oil for about 5-8 minutes. Add mushrooms and cook for another minute or two. Add spices, sour cream, Worcestershire sauce, Dijon mustard, and stock. Allow that to simmer for a few minutes and if the sauce still seems too thin, add a little cornstarch. Serve on egg noodles or penne. (I used whole wheat!)

*This does not need much salt due to the saltiness of the Worcestershire sauce and beef stock! I would suggest not adding much salt until after you serve it, just in case. This was a great idea to use up some ingredients I had! I’ve been getting MUCH better at doing that lately! I refuse to waste any more food!

I’ve finally got my Netflix working! I get to watch anything I want! Living with my ex-husband was…well, I let him just watch whatever he wanted to watch. It wasn’t worth the whining I got from him. At one point, I could just watch things I wanted to watch while he was gone. But then he lost his job because he’s an idiot. So he was home all the time. I NEVER got to watch ANYTHING I wanted. So having Netflix is a HUGE luxury for me. I mean, massive. And it’s all for me. ^_^

Living alone is pretty great. But I know I won’t be forever.

Comments on: "Back to work!" (2)

  1. Oh! So when I viewed the photograph of your Broccoli and Mushroom Stroganoff, I thought, “Wow! That looks delicious with the baby corn!” And the baby corn aren’t really baby corn – they are pasta, yes? I think that you’ve just inspired a food design for me. A combination of Vegan Sparkle’s Mushroom Stroganoff + baby corn. Do you read her blog? If not, you should. It is fab! A food design to come, me thinks! Mwahaha. 😉

    • It is! It contains both whole wheat penne and whole wheat egg noodles because I didn’t have enough penne! I LOVE the baby corn idea! What a perfect substitute for pasta!

Leave a Reply

