Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Closer

Coming closer to my 1 year has left me much lazier in updating this. I am spending too much time thinking of a name, the new content I want to write about, what my first entry will be, how I want to approach it, that I’ve become behind again by a couple days on here. I promise you it will be worth it.

Breakfast:

Miss P’s Test Kitchen: Muffin Experiment #5 – Molasses Muffins

I ought to have perfected my base recipe first before deviating so much, but I was interested in working with liquid sweeteners as opposed to granulated sugar. Here were the results:

2.8 oz Flour (I experimented with Whole Wheat)
3.3 oz grated Vegetables/Fruits (here I used a combination of carrots and apple)
1/3 cup Molasses
1/3 cup full fat Milk
Heaping 1/8 cup Oil
1 Egg
1/3 t Baking Soda
2/3 t Baking Powder
1 t Cinnamon
1/2 t Ginger
Fresh grated Nutmeg (about 1/4 t)
Pinch of Salt

These hardly rose at all. I figured it was due to the insane amount of liquid in it. I should have taken some liquid out elsewhere in the recipe when I added all that molasses. The result, though, ended up on a very tender, moist, and fluffy muffin. Odd! Even though the batter rose better yesterday, the flatter muffins have a MUCH better texture. I will try again tomorrow.

Before lunch, I went flea market shopping. I need a coffee table. Something small, low to the floor and unique. I found an old painted army trunk. It was painted black with gold swirls on top. Some of the paint has chipped off because it is old. I love it. I could buy one and paint it myself, but this one LOOKS antique since is IS antique. That’s the look I want! I bargained with the man over the trunk and a very large oval-shaped mirror with a gold, ornate frame. He tried to offer me $28 for both, but his wife became rather cross, yelled at him in Spanish, and the man muttered, “I am sorry, my wife wants at least $30 for them…” The poor man. I took them anyway. to be honest, the mirror alone is worth nearly $100 new, and the trunk worth close to $70 as it was painted and had love and work put into it as an art piece. I tried to hang my mirror in my living room and just hated how it looked every place I put it. Then it hit me. I don’t have to hang it in my living room. I now have it hanging in my kitchen where it reflects the windows in my little nook. It is beautiful.

Lunch:

I ate this and also had an extra muffin before I leaving to go work out. It had been a long morning and I just wanted a little extra pick-me-up before going back for the first time in 4 months!

Going to the gym was WONDERFUL! I was so excited about being back, I couldn’t keep my heart rate down! The music my mp3 player chose to play were FABULOUS! I missed running! I missed spacing out for an hour! I missed relaxing my brain and just letting the workout take me. LOVED IT!

Dinner:

Pasta with Broccoli, Mushrooms, Tomatoes and Parmesan Cheese

Taken from: http://www.creative-culinary.com/2011/04/pasta-con-broccoli/

Ingredients

2-3 cups broccoli florets
12 oz spaghetti noodles (I used angel hair because I prefer it)
2 cups sliced fresh mushrooms
1 cup chopped fresh tomato
1 cup grated Parmesan cheese
4 Tbsp butter, melted
4 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
Salt and pepper to taste
More Parmesan to sprinkle on top
ADDED:
Minced Garlic
Fresh chopped Parsley (for garnish)

Preparation

Simmer broccoli in approximately 2 quarts of salted hot water for a few seconds.
Add uncooked spaghetti and cook for 8 minutes. (I prefer thin spaghetti…so adjust accordingly if you do and add to water after a couple of minutes).
Put mushrooms and tomatoes in bottom of serving bowl.
Drain broccoli and spaghetti in colander and put on top of vegetables in bowl and let it sit for a minute.
Add Parmesan, butter, olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper; toss together and serve with some additional Parmesan grated on top.

*This recipe was a HUGE surprise to me! HUGE! I just wanted something easy and simple (because I was DYING to start watching “The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes” with Jeremy Brett, who is positively swoon-worthy) and I randomly found this recipe that used all the ingredients that needed to be eaten before going bad and being wasted. THIS was fantastic. I will be making this many, many more times in the future.

Exercise: 1 hour at the gym

Comments on: "Closer" (2)

  1. I’m pretty damn excited about your new site!
    One word of advice… host your own blog! It will save you a lot of trouble when you desire to turn it into something bigger in a year. WordPress tries to own you forever!

Leave a Reply

